Guest Post by Author Mike Martin!

0116678A-1683-491C-97CD-FBA92E83DA6C

I am pleased to have Mike Martin back again to do  a guest post about how his wonderful Sgt. Windflower Mystery Series was created.

Thank you, Mike, for stopping by. It’s a pleasure to have you back.

Thank you, Janice, for the offer to come back and do a guest post. It’s a pleasure to be here and share my latest book, A Tangled Web.

Please tell us about your series, Mike.

I often get asked where I got the idea for the Sgt. Windflower Mystery Series. First of all, I had no idea that it would become a series. I simply wanted to write a story, and publish my own book. And I had no clue where to start, let alone finish that book. But sometimes time, space and creation all come together in a magical fashion to create great possibilities. That’s what happened to me one day when I was visiting Grand Bank, Newfoundland, on the easternmost tip of Canada.

The reason for my visit to Grand Bank was a vacation with my partner, whose family had grown up there. I was wandering around the waterfront in the fog, gazing out at the lighthouse when it came to me. It didn’t just come to me, he came to me. Sgt. Winston Windflower kind of walked out of the fog and started telling me his story. I went home and started writing it down. I used the mystery genre to set the frame for the story because I understood that format, but everything else was purely from the creative flow.

After a while I realized I could, if I tried very hard, tap into this creative flow, which I believe is in inside all of us. I go there and Sgt. Windflower and the other characters in the stories show up and start yakking at me. My job is to give all of them voice and space and the ability to become real on the pages of a book. But there is one more piece that has to occur in order for this to become a reality. And that’s where you, the readers, come in.

For all of the creative flow, and my humble efforts to capture the story, it truly only becomes real when it’s touched by a reader’s imagination. You take the words on paper and bring them to life. Thank you for doing that. Let’s do it again, together, at least one more time.

Thank you, Mike, for stopping by. I look forward to reading your newest book, A Tangled Web. I’ve enjoyed all the other books in this series.

98FD2495-1074-43D4-B2F8-F76F1E54D96B

CC4FCCCB-35BB-4531-AD47-EB660A190115.jpeg

Here are the links for Mike’s latest book.

A Tangled Web

EBOOKS

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Apple Store

Kobo Store

United States

Amazon.com

United Kingdom

Amazon UK

Canada

Chapters/Indigo

Here are the links to Mike Martin’s other books in this series.

Amazon

If you haven’t read any of them yet you are in for a treat. Please go and check them out. They are entertaining mysteries.

Here is my review of Book 1 in the series on Amazon.

5.0 out of 5 starsAn Intriguing Mystery!
ByJjspinaon April 8, 2015
Format: Paperback
The Walker on the Cape is a good beginning for the Winston Windflower Series. I read book 2 in error first but found it and this book intriguing and felt caught up in the series. In this book Winston Windflower, a member of RCMP, is called into service to solve the mystery of the murder of a quiet and reclusive man, Elias Martin. His death turns out to be more than just a heart attack. There are many forces who want to keep this murder a secret. Windflower finds himself up against strong and influentual people who will stop at nothing short of murder. These people do not know how resilient and persistent Windflower really is.

Mike Martin has created a fascinating character in Winston Windflower and I look forward to more books in this series.

Thank you, readers, for stopping by to meet creative author, Mike Martin, and his wonderful mystery series. I hope you will check out his books today.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY! SOAR ALL YEAR THROUGH WITH JEMSBOOKS FOR ALL AGES!

Give an author some love today in the form of a review of his/her book! He/she will love you for it.

Blessings & Hugs!

Janice

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Mike Martin, Mystery, new book, Sgt. Windflower Mystery Series, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest Post by Author Mike Martin!

  1. macjam47 says:

    I enjoyed meeting Mike and hearing about Sgt. Windflower, Janice.

Leave a Reply

