How Often Should I Publish Posts on my Blog?

This question has plagued me continually since I began blogging. How often should I publish posts on my blog? I don’t know the answer, do you? I don’t think there is a strict rule about this.

I think it all depends on the individual and how much he/she has to say. I find that I feel more verbose when I am rested and energized. If I have had a busy day or too much to do physically around the house I don’t always feel up to a long post. It also helps that my husband starts dinner if he sees that I am typing away. Reason why I am typing furiously right now! LOL! Don’t tell him!

Laptop

I write my posts as I write my books – off the cuff. I don’t always know what I am going to say until I type it on my laptop. It’s always a surprise to me. It’s as if I am a reader and just reading for the first time.  I don’t like to write longhand. My hands ache after a page or two.

Paper and stylus

Writing off the cuff doesn’t always make for a lot of quick posts. Of course, unless my mind is off and running in all different directions. That is not a pretty thing to witness. Just ask my husband and he will tell you!

Getting back to how often should I post on my blog? I try to do a couple of posts a week or sometimes one every 4-5 days. With all the commitments I have had lately it has been difficult to do even that. Thanks to Hugh Roberts, blogger extraordinaire, for teaching me how to schedule a post, which I do often now. If I can find enough time to write and schedule them then I will be all set. Sigh!

My suggestion is that you do whatever is right for you. If you feel like doing a post a day, several posts a week or maybe several posts a day, go for it! Just remember that your readers can’t read them all. They will have to be selective if you have too many.

Whatever you decide to do is fine. Feel free to do whatever you feel comfortable doing. Blog on everyone! Have fun!

Thank you for stopping by and for your continued support. I hope you have a wonderful day!

Remember: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY! SOAR WITH JEMSBOOKS RIGHT INTO 2018!  

More books coming  this year and next.

Go to http://jemsbooks.com for books for all ages

Give an author some love today by reviewing his/her book! He/she will love you for it!

Blessings & hugs!

Janice

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in author, Award-winning books, blogging, Books for all ages, children's books, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, Reading, Writing, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to How Often Should I Publish Posts on my Blog?

  1. colinandray says:

    I am sure that somebody, somewhere, has a formula for the most effective blogging but really… it’s your Blog for you to use how you wish. It probably won’t matter to most of your Followers because they will be advised when you publish anyway. It’s the “discreet visitors” (non-Followers) who could be impacted because if they find your Blog and quite like it, but after a few visits nothing more is published, then they may not bother returning. My suggestion would be to try and publish at regular intervals. Alternate days is an obvious one but, if that could be an issue, then perhaps err on the side of caution and plan a weekly Post. If the latter is your choice, you can still publish more frequently as ideas and time permits however, you should perhaps note somewhere of your intent to publish (e.g.) on Saturdays. The “discreet visitor” will then have the option of checking your Blog out every Saturday and, who knows, that Wednesday Post that you slipped in during that week will be a bonus to them! All the best. 🙂

  2. As you said, Janice, it all depends on the blogger, or, what they want to achieve with their blog.
    Some write daily, like a journal, then post one long post per week.
    Others write when the mood takes them, be it a long post, or, a short one-liner thought.
    My advice is; do what gives you most pleasure / fun. 😎❤️

  3. I started out with daily quotes but I now do twice weekly posts which I schedule ahead of time. My blog has grown just the same and I enjoy blogging more. I do not know where some bloggers get their energy!

    • jjspina says:

      It can be daunting trying to write a post every day. I agree. My readership has grown whether I post one day a week or more. I find people are waiting and jump on each post as soon as I publish them. I don’t have the time or energy to do a daily one anymore. God bless those that can. Thanks for stopping by. 🤗

  4. It is an interesting question, Janice. I started out with a schedule and then as I got more into blogging and enjoying all the interaction it has increased. I find that if I do prompts a couple of times a week the posts wrack up but I do enjoy them so much and feel I learn from them.

  5. blondieaka says:

    Like you Janice, I just write no plans well not many..lol…I would love to schedule properly and maybe one day….I just don’t think it is me as my writing is spontaneous there is always something I want to reblog and some weeks I only manage 3 posts of my own it depends whether that little ding goes off in my head and that could be anytime…lol..

    • jjspina says:

      Yes, I thoroughly agree. I am spontaneous too. I only seem to plan when I have a guest post or interview scheduled. We do what is comfortable for us. Thanks for stopping by, Carol. 🤗

  6. I don’t think there will ever be a correct answer that everyone will agree on to your question, Janice. The most important thing for me is to keep blogging fun. For example, I no longer participate in ‘tag posts’ where I have to post something for a certain amount of days. I find those kinds of posts far too stressful, as I didn’t want to let down the person who had tagged me. Now, when tagged, I thank the person and tell them politely why I won’t be participating. Most understand and say it isn’t a problem.
    I follow some bloggers who only publish once a month, and they have a big following and always get lots of comments. Then there are those who publish posts several times a day. I can’t read and comment on all of their posts, so I select a post from them every now and again. Sometimes, I write and publish maybe two posts a week. Then, I go through a spell of writing maybe four or five times a week. I go with the speed of whatever my creative cogs dictate. 😀
    Thanks so much for the mention in your post. I really appreciate it.

    • jjspina says:

      You are welcome, Hugh. You have helped me more than you know. I agree with you about being selective about choosing posts to read if there are several in one day from one blogger. I find it too stressful to read that many. Thank you for all your counseling on blogging! 💕🤗

  7. I have a posting schedule I generally stick to: Sunday and Monday I post random stuff (sometimes stuff I’ve done recently, sometimes stuff I’m sharing that others have posted and I think my blog readers may be interested in, sometimes book or movie reviews… You get the idea). Wednesdays are writing related posts (stuff about my own writing, along with links to interesting posts and articles related to writing, publishing, and anything connected with the various aspects of getting a book out in to the world). Fridays are pet themed posts (usually things that have happened lately from the point of view of one of my pets).

    Sometimes themes will be tweaked slightly (like when I have more writing related stuff to post about than normal, as I currently do due to blog tours I’m doing to promote the audio versions of my books becoming available) and sometimes I’ll post on other days too, if there’s something I spacifically need/want to post on a certain date, or if I’ve ended up with a lot of things I want to post, and am ending up scheduling things too far in to the future so want to catch up on posting the things I want to share. But for the most part I stick to the four days a week thing.

Leave a Reply

