Interview with Author C.C. Warrens!

CC Warrens and husband

I am pleased to have a talented author here today on Jemsbooks Guest Post/Author InterviewC.C. Warrens. Thank you, C.C., for stopping by today to share your work with my readers and me.

Thank you, Janice. It’s a pleasure to be here.

I will turn the soap box over to you now, C.C.

1. Please tell us something about yourself.
I love frogs (not the lumpy brown toads…ick). I think they’re cute and colorful, and I would love to have a tree frog as a pet.

Jjspina: They are cute, aren’t they?

 
2. When did you know that you wanted to be an author?
I’ve loved to write since I was a child. I used to write stories for my friends to enjoy. But I never really believed I could be an author until my husband encouraged me.

jjspina: Husbands can be wonderful like that. Thank God for him.

 
3. What process do you need in order to write?
My writing takes on its best shape when I’m alone in a dark, quiet room, lit only by “twinkly lights.” They sort of remind me of fireflies at night, and I find them peaceful.

jjspina: That does sound calming and conducive to writing.

 
4. How do you come up with ideas for your stories?
That depends. I draw on experiences from life for certain elements—like wheelchair basketball, one of the adaptive sports Jace plays. My husband is in a wheelchair and he’s very active in adaptive sports.
The overall plots of the story come from my husband and me going for walks, bouncing ideas off each other. He’ll be the first to tell you that his ideas are usually ludicrous, but they get me thinking.
Character development . . . well, I believe that no good character is truly fictional. We pull quirks, histories, flaws, and traits from people in our lives, from ourselves, even some random person we saw on a sidewalk one day. The trick is pulling those pieces together to create a realistic, relatable character. That is sometimes a challenge.

jjspina: Sounds like your husband is your creative muse.

 
5. What projects are you currently working on?
I’m finishing up the final touches of Cross Fire, the second book in the Holly Novel series.

jjspina: I look forward to checking it out.

 
6. What do you expect to accomplish in the rest of 2017 and into 2018?
I expect to publish book 2, and I’m hoping to expand the audience for Criss Cross, the first book in the series.

jjspina: I wish you all the best with both books.

 
7. What hobbies do you have when you are not writing?
Walking is my fa.vorite hobby, followed by reading, watching movies, and attempting to bake. And I stress the “attempt” part.

jjspina: Well, at least you attempt it. That’s a start. LOL!

 
8. What is your target audience for your book?
I’m not sure I have a specific target audience. I wanted to write a series that anyone could enjoy.

jjspina: That is the hardest thing to figure out at times. Sometimes we just fall into one by accident.

Criss Cross CC Warrens
9. Please share your books with us and a synopsis of each.
Criss Cross is the first book in the Holly Novel series, and it’s from the perspective of a young woman who’s had a very difficult life. She’s a bit quirky, very defensive, and in hiding.

 
Here is the blurb from the back cover:
Holly is living on borrowed time, but when mysterious footsteps follow her home and a cryptic note shows up on her door, she realizes she’s running out of time. The man she’s hiding from has found her. Or has he? When people start dying and old, forgotten memories begin to surface, Holly finds herself wrapped up in a terrifying mystery with God, a pushy southern detective, and a killer with one thing on his mind: her.

Cross Fire CC Warrens
Cross Fire is the second book in the Holly series. Holly is just learning to trust again and build relationships, when her flesh-and-blood nightmare comes back to haunt her.

 
Here is the blurb:
When Holly’s worst nightmare steps back into her life, she has to decide whether to stand and fight or flee and survive. As the threads of her life begin to unravel around her, leaving her displaced from her home, terrified, and caught in the middle of a drug battle, she can’t help but wonder if she made the wrong choice.

 
The first few chapters of both can be found on my WordPress site. Cross Fire will be out this November.

 
10. Please share your links and where to purchase your books.
Criss Cross: A Holly Novel

AMAZON

GOODREADS

FACEBOOK

WORDPRESS

 
11. What advice would you give prospective authors?
If you have a heart for writing, then don’t let anything stop you. Writing connects us with God, with other people, and allows us to reach out and impact the lives of people we’ve never met.
Be prepared for criticism. Sometimes it’s constructive and sometimes it isn’t. But don’t let it discourage you. Not every book is for everyone.
Have faith in yourself.

jjspina: This is wonderful and sound advice, C.C.

 

12. Is there anything else you would like to share?
I’m always open to questions and feedback, so anyone is welcome to contact me through one of my websites, or send me an email: ccwarrens@yahoo.com.
Best of luck to all you writers out there, and thank you to everyone who encourages us, supports us, and spreads the word through reviews, blogs, and word of mouth. It has more of an impact than you know.

jjspina: I definitely agree with you, C.C., about reviews having a enormous impact on an author’s success. I wish you all the best.

Thank you, C.C., for coming today. It has been a pleasure to have you here today. Your books sound fascinating and I will be checking them out soon.

Thank you, readers, for stopping by to read about C.C. Warrens and her books. I hope you will take some time to check them out. As always, thank you all for your kind support.

Remember:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY! SOAR WITH JEMSBOOKS ALL YEAR LONG!

Give some love to authors by reviewing their books! They will love you for it!

(If any author would like to be featured here in a interview or guest post, please contact me by email: jjspina@myfairpoint.net and put in SUBJECT LINE – GUEST POST/INTERVIEW.)

Blessings & Hugs!

Janice

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, C.C. Warrens, Mystery, new books, Reading, suspense, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Interview with Author C.C. Warrens!

  1. Andrew Joyce says:

    Great interview questions. And equally great answers.

  2. Jennie says:

    Excellent interview!

  3. Reblogged this on Author Don Massenzio and commented:
    Check out this interview with author C.C. Warrrens as featured in this post on the Jem’s Books blog.

  4. Debbie Lester says:

    Great interview. I discovered C. C. Warrens through the Avid Readers of Christian Fiction Facebook group. And I’m so glad I did! I totally loved Criss Cross and I can’t wait to read the sequel.

Leave a Reply

