What does it mean to be an Indie Author?

I have been an Indie Author since 2013 and often asked myself this question. What does it mean to be an indie author? There are many things that come to mind. Some of them are positive while others are negative.

1. I am my own boss.

2. I need to promote my work tirelessly.

3. I need to keep up with all social media.

4. I need to update my blog and website with my work often.

5.  I need to actively engage my target audience in order to sell books.

6. I need to do book signings and donate books to libraries and schools.

7. I need to actively gift books to readers with the hope of receiving reviews.

Everything I do is not only time consuming but can be tedious. Being an Indie Author takes a whole lot of energy in order to be somewhat successful. I am still working diligently to getting even just a little of that.

I do all this because I love what I do – writing for all ages. I do this because I want to encourage all ages to read, to realize the importance of reading and the multitude of benefits it provides.

I appreciate everyone who has ever purchased my books and written reviews. I appreciate the support I have received from all the fellow authors, writers, readers who have become my friends online. You know who you are. There are too many to mention here. It is because of you that I continue on this difficult road to publishing.

As long as I can physically continue to write and publish as an indie author, I will do so. I will also continue to support all my online friends in return for their tireless support.

I read an article recently about being an Indie Author. Here is the link. You might enjoy reading it. (Sorry, I  lost the link or maybe it doesn’t exist anymore.)

Please show some love for authors by reviewing their books. It is like an early Christmas gift.

Thank you for stopping by and for your continued support.

All Jemsbooks are available on Jemsbooks.com, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Sears.com and some at Walmart.com.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY! SOAR WITH JEMSBOOKS THROUGHOUT THE YEAR!

Blessings & Hugs,

Janice

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in author, Award-winning books, blogging, Books for all ages, children's books, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, Jemsbooks, middle-grade books, novels, Reading, Writing, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to What does it mean to be an Indie Author?

  1. Mary Smith says:

    I agree the promoting and keeping up with social media can be a slog but, ont he other hand, we can write what we want regardless of what publishers think we should be writing.
    By the way, I couldn’t get the link to the article about being an Indie Author to work – says server not found.

  2. noelleg44 says:

    What a great job you did, Janice, summing up all the things you have to do to market – the things I like to do least! You are so successful at it!

  3. Excellent overview, Janice! 🙂 Sharing… xo

  4. Reblogged this on Author Don Massenzio and commented:
    Check out this thought-provoking post on what it means to be an Indie Author from the Jem’s Books blog.

  5. Pingback: What does it mean to be an Indie Author? « Frank Parker's author site

  6. franklparker says:

    Excellent post. Shared via Press This.

  7. A great post. I have been reading lots since I was published and I now know how important it is to leave a review 🌼

  8. macjam47 says:

    Reblogged this on BOOK CHAT and commented:
    Janice Spina tells us being an indie author is a work of love, but it also requires a lot of dedication and hard work.

  9. amreade says:

    Wonderful post and good job summing up the hard work to promote and write and still have a life! Writing is one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done, and I’m so thankful to be a part of a community that includes people like you and all the others who’ve left comments above. Thank you!

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you, Amy. I enjoy having friends like you who support and bolster up my ego. It is wonderful to have such a supportive community. We need to stick together in this crazy business. When one of us is successful it leads to all of us! Blessings & hugs! 😘

  10. I have Indie Author friends. they all say it is a lot of work but worth it!

  11. Well done with all your hard work and effort.
    Best wishes for the future.

  12. Your list is spot on. In fact-I may use it the next time someone asks me “but what do you really do as a self published author?” Thanks so much!

  13. dgkaye says:

    You said it Janice, We’re a one man show, lol. Great post. ❤

  14. C.C. says:

    This was a great article! I published my first book in April, and I never realized how hard it would be to break into the author world. I absolutely love to write, but I’m horrendous at selling anything, which frequently makes it difficult to promote my book and sometimes it’s very discouraging. Do you ever feel discouraged with the whole process after publishing? If so, I would love to know how you tackle that.

    • jjspina says:

      Hi CC, Thanks for stopping by. Yes, I do get discouraged but then I cheer myself up when I write, or receive a great review, or win a new award, or get positive feedback from the online friends (support system). It’s because I love what I do – writing for all ages! I don’t want to give up what I love. It’s what keeps me going. There will be many ups and downs in your career but you must focus on the positive even if it is fleeting. That is what I try to do, focus on what is positive about being an indie author. It is a difficult job but you must have the determination, perseverance, and love of what you do to continue on this rocky road.
      Feel free to connect with me and share your links. If you would like to do a guest post or interview on my blog contact me at jjspina@myfairpoint.net. I enjoy helping fellow authors by sharing their work on my blog.
      Best wishes and never give up!

Leave a Reply

