Spring – Where are you?

Happy spring wherever you are!

View of the pond in my back yard – snow is still evident which makes a person question – where is spring? It is officially spring here in New Hampshire but our snow has not completely melted. The weather was milder until March came in like a lion and is not going out like a lamb. Temps have been colder and snowier than all winter combined.

But we New Englanders are a hearty bunch. We bundle up, take a walk or hunker down in the bitterest of cold days. We enjoy the beauty around us even with a mountain of snow and we did get about five feet of snow over this winter. Less snow than has fallen in previous years though.

Each day I am thankful for a snuggly, warm house, a hearty meal, a wonderful husband and family and all you special online friends.

It feels like spring inside my house with my plants flowering. I want to share them with you since I can’t share any in my yard for a while yet. But I promise to share my flowers all spring and summer with you.

Hibiscus (This plant was given to me two Mother’s Days ago by my son and daughter-in-law, and it is still thriving)

Lily (grown by hydroponics with three goldfish in the tank below)

African violet (new plant that replaced one that the cold winter, while sitting on the window sill, killed.)

I hope wherever you live you are happy, healthy, and living life to the fullest.

Thank you for stopping by. I apologize for not blogging more often lately but I have been busy preparing two more books for publication.

My latest book has been well received with several great reviews. Please check out An Angel Among Us, short story collection, on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Create Space. 

Book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives is in the works about a ghost and will introduce two new characters (girls) who are cousins. These two cousins, will spin off and have their own series later next year unless I can get to it sooner. Some of my readers requested that I write a series for preteen/teen girls. See, I do listen to your requests, girls.

My husband, John, is working on a children’s book about a giraffe. I was requested to write this book for a woman’s grandson. I hope this woman is reading my blog and will come forward about this book. I don’t have her name. She stopped by at one of my book signings in Derry, NH two years ago. I told her I would get to it eventually. LOL!

Blessings & hugs to all! Thank you for your kind support! I love to hear from you in the form of reviews. They are like early Christmas gifts that I can open!

Remember: Reading Gives You Wings To Fly! Soar with Jemsbooks!

Janice

❤💐

Addendum: Here it is April 1st and we had another snowstorm with about a foot of snow. Here is a picture of the pond behind my house which is completely covered once again and my back deck. Where is global warming?! It is beautiful though and soon will be gone next week with 40-50 degree temperatures coming. Think spring!!!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in blogging, Books for all ages, fish, flowers, Jemsbooks, new books, Reading, Short story collection, spring, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spring – Where are you?

  1. Sorry you are still getting snow Janice but as you say plenty of colour in the house.. I will feature the latest reviews for An Angel among us on Friday’s Bookstore update.. So pleased it is doing well. love and hugs ♥

  2. Behind the Story says:

    Your hibiscus is beautiful. I love the color. We’re still having daily rain here in the Seattle area, but spring is showing its face. I think I’ll go out and take a picture of my pansies and primroses. I, too, am incredibly grateful for my snuggly warm house. When the weather is cold, I think about the homeless and how painful it must be to have no home to come back to.

  3. I hope your weather warms up soon. I love African violets, they have such a lovely rich purple colour.

  4. It has really been a crazy mixed up winter, hasn’t it! And spring seems to follow suit. I giggled when Steven Colbert quipped “I wish winter would come back so I could wear shorts again!” Mega hugs.

  5. cav12 says:

    We are currently into the second month of Autumn and it is 31 degrees Celsius; nice and warm. We’re making up for the lack lustre summer season. LOL

Leave a Reply

