What Defines You as an Author?

What Defines You as an Author?

There are many things that define an author.

image

Voice – Each author has his/her own voice. Certain distinctive patterns in one’s writing can identify them, making them stand out from the rest. Some authors use humor, others use surprise, shock or the unusual.

image

Genre – Do you write in one genre or multi-genes? The type of genres can define you as an author. Some authors are known for their rhythmic cadence in children’s books. Others excel in middle-grade, young adult fantasy, or adult subjects. Just write in the genres that touch your heart.

image

Focus – As an author you need to focus on what is important to you. Your focus can define you. Hone your craft and write daily in some form whether it be in a blog, creating a story or just jotting down some thoughts. The more you focus on writing the better you will become as a writer and author.

image

Goal – Whatever you endeavor to do in life you must first have a goal. Reaching your goal(s) will define you as a successful author. Define this/these goal(s) by asking yourself these questions.

1. What do I want to achieve?
2. How do I do this?
3. Where do I begin?
4. Will this make me happy?

imageimage

Character – Your character is a part of you as an author. It defines you. It shines through to others as they read your work. Some authors put some of themselves in their books. Others use their life experiences, tragedies, joys to build their stories. The more you put of your own character into your books the more alive your books will be. You will be more successful in reaching your target audience. For, who knows us better than we know ourselves?

image

You can put these in alphabetical order to better remember them.

Character
Focus
Genre
Goals
Voice

image

As an author I find when I begin a new story I draw from my background, people I have met or seen, places I traveled or studied about and life experiences. I put myself into the story by acting out each scene as if I was in it. I laugh. I cry. I scream (not too loud). I act frightened, outraged or just incredulous over what I am taking part in order to infuse emotion into the scenes. In other words, I am an integral part of the story as I draw from my own experiences. I find this works for me but can be annoying to my husband who may be in earshot of my ramblings!

image image

It is always easier and more authentic if one writes about what he/she knows. Otherwise, there will be tons of Googling to learn about things one doesn’t know about. There is nothing wrong, however, with learning something new every day. This keeps an author fresh and interesting as a person and as a writer.

image

Whatever you plan to do in your writing, please remember to do what makes you happy. Don’t worry about what others say. Don’t let those pesky 1 or 2 star reviews discourage you from living your dream. We can’t all be J K Rowling but we can be the best we can be through hard work, determination and perseverance.

image

Keep on writing! Readers out there, please keep on reading! We authors need you and love to hear from you! I enjoy hearing feedback on all my books.

Remember: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Please soar along with me and Jemsbooks!

IMG_2401

Jemsbooks available on Amazon, BN, Create Space or directly from me signed, sealed and delivered with love. LOL! Email me for copies jjspina@myfairpoint.net. Put Book Order in Subject Line.

Thanks for stopping by!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in animal stories, author, blogging, Books for kids, Jemsbooks, middle-grade books, Mystery, Reading, Summer reading, summer reading for kids, Writing, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to What Defines You as an Author?

  1. Wonderful post, Janice. Inside the box, outside the box… As you might have guessed, I would have said “What box?” because I don’t seem to even come close! LOL. Huge hugs.

  2. Reblogged this on Don Massenzio's Blog and commented:
    Here is a great post on defining yourself as an author.

  3. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Janice Spina asks What defines you as an author.. head over and let her know. For me it is an extension of who I am.. writing about what interests, excites and makes me tick.

  4. dgkaye says:

    Excellent post Janice. Indeed, writing from the heart will shine through our writing. 🙂

  5. C.E.Robinson says:

    Janice, a great post! Thought it would be easy to write what I know…about my childhood life. However, the research has been extensive to include WWII history, and how it was growing up in those times! Include German grandparents in the mix! 💛 Elizabeth

  6. A wonderful post, Janice. Makes me smile, but words to chew on. 🙂

  7. mihrank says:

    impressive, detailed and talent – Bravo

  8. Janice Wald says:

    Hi Janice,
    Sorry to impose, but… Could you please resend the information on how to stop Twitter notifications from going into my Email? Thanks!
    Janice Wald

Leave a Reply

