Fall is Upon Us – My Favorite Time of Year!

20141003_102227

Forest Hills Golf Course

Driving down to Massachusetts today to babysit my youngest grandson I noticed the trees were suddenly bursting with color. They were no longer just green but were now mixed with red, yellow, and orange in a kaleidoscope of beautiful shades. The beauty was so distracting I had to grip the wheel or I found myself daydreaming and wanting to write something. I had to wait until I arrived at my daughter’s house. Luckily my grandson was still sleeping which gave me some moments to start this post.

image

I love everything about the fall, the changing of the seasons, the incredible beauty as the trees lose their green (chlorophyll), the cool, crispness in the air and the change from barbecuing to oven-prepared foods that are comforting.

Of course I do love the summer but once it is over I welcome the change. The same thing goes for the winter. When it is over I am ready for the spring. I love having the change in seasons and would not be happy to live anywhere else. Spring is an awakening of nature after a tough winter. Fall prepares us for the changes to come by cooling the temperatures until our bodies become adjusted once again to the extreme cold of the winter.

Living in Londondery, New Hampshire, the Live Free or Die state, is lovely all year round (oops except the harsh winter we had in 2015)! Londonderry at one time had 17 apple orchards and is now down to a handful. There is nothing like the smell of apple pie baking or the warm feeling one gets sampling the first bite. My mouth is watering now. Unfortunately I am on a special diet (thanks to Sally G. Cronin for getting me on the right track). I may not be eating my own creations but I will certainly improvise.

image

Right behind the start of fall is a fun time for kids – Halloween, then we are preparing for Thanksgiving and right after the turkey dinner we are decorating and shopping for Christmas! It all becomes a blur. This is another reason why I love fall. I like the relaxed feel of the beginning of the season before the rush of the holidays is upon us.

I took some snaps around the yard to show the beauty of the last vestiges of Summer’s flowers, fall decorations, and some of the brilliant beginnings of colorful trees.

image image image image image image image image20141003_102359

fall

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoyed my photos and musings.

Remember:Reading Gives You Wings to Fly!

Stock up on some fall reading by going to http://Amazon.com/author/janicespina7. Jemsbooks are for all ages. Have you read to your children today? It is never too late to spend quality time every day with them by reading together.

Enjoy every day as if it were your last!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in blogging, poetry, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fall is Upon Us – My Favorite Time of Year!

  1. Lovely post and pictures, Janice. Enjoyed them. We are coming into summer. It’s getting warmer. It’s beautiful. The trees start to flower, Jacaranda, blue and Poinciana, red, Everywhere you see these colours. Love it. Hugs

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you, Gigi! I guess we are at opposite seasons. Enjoy all the beauty around you. It always seems so fleeting! I love all the pictures you post online. They are just beautiful. Blessings & hugs my friend!

      • Thank you Janice. Yes we are. It’s wonderful warm here now. 28’C. Have to go soon in the garden and do something, like weeding? Huh? All right, yes, has to be done

  2. noelleg44 says:

    There is nothing like a New England fall! Your pictures made me so homesick! We are drowning in rain here in NC and I’m not sure we will have any fall color because the rain and wind are stripping the trees. So I can revel in your photographs!

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you, Noelle. So sorry to hear about your weather. We have had that happen here in years past and lose all the leaves before they get to display their beauty. Such a shame! It is a pleasure to share my photos. I will be sure to post more soon. Blessings & hugs!

  3. I live in Pennsylvania 10 miles north of Philadelphia. I was a city girl up to 10 years ago when I moved to the country. Fall was always my favorite season, and now that I live in the country, I appreciate the fall colors that surround me, the flock of birds roaming in the sky searching for their winter homes and the tall vines of the picked corn in the fields. I appreciate this season even more living amongst all the beauty of nature.

    • jjspina says:

      Hi Jude, nice of you to stop by. I have been to Philly, lovely place. Yes, isn’t tha fall just gorgeous! The colors are getting brighter and brighter each day. I hate for all this beauty to end but I capture as many photos as I can to remember. Blessings of the day to you!

  4. dray0308 says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    As some of you may know, I was born in western Massachusetts and have had the opportunity to spend time in New England in the fall. There may not be a more beautiful part of the U.S. than New England in the Autumn! Enjoy…

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you, Dray for stopping by! I agree, it is absolutely gorgeous looking out my windows and driving around through town. I will share more of newest photos on a new blog. Blessings!

  5. Pingback: My Article Read (11-15-2015) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

