Happiness is………

image

HAPPINESS IS ……..

What do you think happiness is? There are times in life that we feel deep joy and other times when we feel profound despondency? I say this because our lovely friend, Dan, died recently and I pray for him that he is now in a better place free of pain. May God bless him! We miss him! He is now joyfully with God! Of course we always want to be joyful but the down times are what make the joyful times more appreciated.

In order to stay on a healthy curve we must think of those things that make us happy. What makes you happy?

Here is what makes me happy or at least keeps me thinking positively.

1. Having a healthy body is one way to feel happier. Making sure that I eat right, stay away from fried foods, fatty meats and extra sweets. I can still have the things I like once in a while without overdoing it. I would love to look like Marilyn Monroe or Elizabeth Taylor (in their prime) or Jessica Alba but I have to be realistic. I just have to be the best I can be. Lol!

Jessica AlbaElizabeth TaylorMarilyn Monroe

Wikimedia photos

2. Exercise produces endorphins that bring on a high in the brain and make me feel happy. It is even better when I see results of my efforts to lose weight. I think new clothes!

New Clothes

Wikimedia photo

3. I love dark chocolate and have one piece a day to lift my spirits. I take small bites and savor in the deep rich flavor of the semi-sweet dark chocolate which makes me feel good. I prefer it to milk chocolate which is sweeter and less chocolatey. Dark chocolate 72% or higher has been known to be beneficial to your body by sending endorphins to the brain that make you feel good, relieve pain and the effects of stress. Chocolate also can lower blood pressure and help increase good levels of cholesterol and protect skin against sun exposure. If you  know you are going to travel to a sunny location eat a square or two of dark chocolate every day for a few months before you go away. (per Wikipedia)

Note: I am not promoting or advertising for these brands nor am I receiving any commission for putting them here. I like all dark chocolate and it so happens this is what I have on hand.

image

4. Spending time with family and friends is good for the spirits. Pick your friends wisely and stay away from negative people. You can’t pick your family but you can take the negative members in small dosages! Only kidding, I love them all!

imageDSCN0669

5. Do something you love every day and fill up your joyful quotient to the max until the next day. If you find you cannot do something you love every day do a spiritual connection with that love and hold it in your heart. My daily love is writing or reading. I can’t seem to get enough of either. When I spend time strictly on my writing, a new novel for instance, I feel wonderful inside as if I have had a productive happiness day. Writing to me is addictive even more than my love for chocolate.

FBPhotoo fBooks

6. Taking a walk with my husband and holding his hand is precious to me. We spend this time together talking about our lives and loves and what we plan to do. We always seem to make plans to travel or do some new project around the house in our talks as we walk.

7.  I love to go to the movies! Thank goodness my husband does too. Of course we do hold hands here too! We go every weekend and sometimes twice in a weekend or during the week if there are some good movies we want to see. We must see over a hundred movies or more in a year’s time. I sometimes post about a particular movie I liked on my blog.

8. I like to see my house when it is sparkling. I clean and keep everything in its place. I got the cleaning bug from my mother who taught me how to clean a bathroom and dust furniture because she didn’t particularly like to dust. You heard the saying, “Cleaniness is next to Godliness.”

9. I am not listing these happiness items in order of what I love so please do not think I left out God. He is the most important part of my happiness quotient per day. I pray to Him and ask Him to make me a better person and pray for my family and friends.  I am thankful to Him for giving me so much joy in my life and enabling me to find it in my writing.

10. One very important way to fill up my happiness quotient is spending time with my five grandchildren. They range in age from 17 years down to 20 months. I have them over for cookouts in the summer as often as we can with our schedules and all year round for a family get-together. I also babysit my two youngest grandchildren twice a week ten months a year. This year my granddaughter will be going to kindergarten and I will only have my 20-month old grandson to watch. He is a little rascal and talking a mile a minute now in sentences and keeping me running and on my toes all day! I am exhausted but happy.

imageimageimageimage

11. Sunsets, walks on the beach in Aruba, listening to the waves as they hit the shore, birdwatching in my backyard, enjoying all the flowers in our yard, crocheting for my grandkids, the fall season, and the peaceful feeling I get from watching the fish in our fish tanks. All these bring great peace and joy to my life. I am truly blessed! These are all my photos. Hope you enjoy them!

imageimageimage

imageimagefallimageimageimage


imageimage

12. Writing books for children with life lessons and themes that encourage good behavior and the value of family and friendship is important to me and makes me happy and fulfilled. I want children to know how  important it is to be kind to one another and to love oneself first so they can love others. Children must be taught to be patient, kind and accepting of others’ differences. This is our job as parents and caretakers of our children to teach them these important lessons.

Children love Jemsbooks!

Children love Jemsbooks!

image

Jesse the Precocious Polar Bear dedicated to Jesse

Jesse the Precocious Polar Bear dedicated to Jesse

Please check out http://Jemsbooks.com Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Create Space for good clean books with life lessons that will stay with children for a lifetime. Parents will love them too!

Even my two middle-grade books have life lessons for children Grade 4-7 about the importance of being kind to each other, patience, friendship and acceptance of disabilities but not of bullying of any kind.

Fr Cover_Front cover DD blue

Well, I think I covered all my joys in life. Every day there is a new joy to be found if I just look for it. I hope you find your happiness each day and fill your quotient to take you through the rough times in your life. Remember joy is more appreciated when there is some sadness at times.  Keep your joy close to your heart and it will shine through to others. Spread it around. We all need more. Keep smiling and being joyful!

Thank you for stopping by. It was a pleasure to have you visit! Hope you find your joys today!

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in author, blogging, children's books, happiness, positive thoughts, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Happiness is………

  1. Great post, Janice, Finished your second book of Davey and Derek and reviewed it. Hope you like it.

  2. What a lovely post Janice, as lovely as you are. I’m sure all your family and friends are just as happy to have you in their lives, I know I am. Charlotte x

  3. Kev says:

    Great post, Janice!

  4. Kev says:

    Reblogged this on Kev's Great Indie Authors and commented:
    Janice shares with us some of the things that make her happy. What makes you happy folks? Welcome to Rollover Sunday, Janice!

  5. arlene says:

    They say that happiness is what you make it. think happy thoughts always. Lovely post.

  6. Very interested post. You missed out the red wine with dark chocolate. Happiness is also having someone like and comment on your blog post!

    • jjspina says:

      You are right there. Love a glass of wine with or without chocolate! Didn’t want to sound like a lush. I only have one a day, all I can handle! Lol! Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I really enjoyed your post Janice! Your thoughts of happiness and joy made me smile. I think you go to as many movies as my wife and I do!

  8. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    Janice. I don’t know if I was aware your name is Janice when we met before. My name is Janice too–spelled your way.
    We have a lot in common. I didn’t write down all the numbers, but I agree with most of these. Dark chocolate, walks with hubby, writing, surrounded by family and friends, etc.
    Thanks for visiting my site today. I’m glad you liked my post 8 Backlinking Mistakes that Every Blogger Should Avoid.
    Janice

Leave a Reply

