Interview with Author Francis H. Powell!

Francis H Powell Photo on 2015-06-01 at 12.57

Francis H. Powell

Please help me welcome author Francis H. Powell to Jemsbooks Blog Segment Interview an Author. Hi Francis! It’s nice to have you here today. Let’s get started on your interview so my readers and I can get to know you better.

  1. Please tell us something about yourself.

Born in a commuter belt city called Reading and like many a middle or upper class child of such times I was shunted off to an all-male boarding school aged eight, away from my parents for periods of up to twelve weeks at a time. In such an institution, where I was to rest until my seventeenth year, there was no getting away from the cruel jibes hurled at me from taunting tormentors. My refuge was the arts room, where I started to find some kind of redemption from the stark Dickensian surroundings, whose aim was nurture the army officers, businessmen, and gentry that dominate the class ridden world I was born into. The seeds were sown, I was an outsider. Happier times were to follow.

I went to art school, where I attempted to exorcize my time spent at school. At eighteen I turned my back on a parental enforced weekly visit to church and my head was filled with a range of nonconformist ideas. While at my first art college through a friend I met a writer named Rupert Thomson, who was at the time in the process of writing his first book “Dreams of leaving”. He was a bit older than myself, me being fresh out of school, but his personality and wit resonated and despite losing contact with him, I always read his latest published books with not only great expectation and unabashed admiration, but also a fascination for a person I had really looked up to, his sentences always tight, shooting arrows that always hit the mark.

My yearning to be creative stayed strong and diversified, from my twenties through to my thirties and forties when I made electronic music, doing concerts, in front ecstasy infused crowds, and at a point I was making videos and short films.

When the age of the internet arrived I was really able translate my creative endeavors into something really tangible. To earn a living I have worked as a teacher. I moved to Austria where upon I thought I would try writing. It is sure that my writing at that time was rough and rugged and without direction. I dived into a story about immortality, the story remains vegetating on some dusty floppy disk. Then tried short stories for children with illustrations to go with them.

It wasn’t until I was in my mid-forties that my writing took shape. I was at this point living in Paris, France. I spotted an advert for short stories. The magazine happened to be called Rat Mort (dead rat) I sent off a short story, in the hope it would match the seemingly dark world the magazine seemed to embroil in. I got no answer. Not put off I sent two more stories. Finally I got an answer. It seemed the magazine editor was a busy man, a man prone to traveling. It seemed my first story really hit the right note with him. His name was Alan Clark. He had a flat in the Montmartre area of Paris, where he seemed known to all, especially those who frequented his favorite drinking haunts. He offered me many words of encouragement.

2. When did you know that you wanted to be an author? 

I think it was more of an evolution, no specific time.

3. What process do you need in order to write? 

I just need my computer and access to a good thesaurus.

4. Please share your books with us and a synopsis of each. 

Francis H Powell 9780988664098-1

I have a recently published book called “Flight of Destiny”. It is a book of 22 short stories. The stories are dark and surreal, but they are also witty. They are quirky and very British in character. They are antiestablishment and champion the freaks and outsiders of this world. There are also quite a lot of despicable characters.

5. How do you come up with ideas for your stories? 

Ideas can come from many different sources. Ideas can just pop into my head, at any moment. Sometimes I can get ideas from newspaper articles, about strange unlikely happenings.

6. What projects are you currently working on? 

I am mostly working on promoting my book.

7. What do you expect to accomplish in 2015? 

For my book to be better known

8. What hobbies do you have when you are not writing? 

I come from a very creative background, I paint, make sculptures, I write music and make videos. My time is pretty filled up.

9. What is your target audience for your book? 

Anyone over the age of twenty, who wants to come along for the ride.

10. Please share your links and where to purchase your books.

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00WSWYVNK http://theflightofdestiny.yolasite.com/ 

http://www.prlog.org/12443660

https://www.facebook.com/flightofdestinyshortstories

11. What advice would you give prospective authors? 

Stick at it, don’t fall by the wayside. Find a niche, find a formula that works for you. I met a woman who is an aspiring writer, who told me of the heartbreaks of her rejections. Maybe some people aim too high or have high expectations. If you post stories on the internet, there are sites I have come across like ReadWave and Scriggler, maybe you can get useful feedback, people actually get to read your stories, rather than languishing on a hard drive doing nothing.  Even if 50 people read your story, it’s a start.

12. Is there anything else you would like to share? 

I am working on music that goes with my short stories, I am working with a great singer song writer called Fred Pierz, who has produced songs for a well-known French singer.

Thank you, Francis, for visiting today to share your interesting new book.  Now that you are part of Jemsbooks Blog family please keep in touch and share with us any new books or projects. I wish you all the best with your book.

Thank you, readers for stopping by today. I hope you will take a look at Francis’ book and leave a review after you read it. We authors love reviews and also love to hear from our readers.

KEEP READING!

Remember: Reading Gives You Wings to Fly!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in author, Author Interviews, blogging, new book, Reading, short story, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with Author Francis H. Powell!

  1. Great interview Janice, what an interesting writer..

  2. Great interview, Janice. Loved reading about him.

Leave a Reply

