Interview with Author Werner Stejskal!

Werner Stejskal

Please welcome author, Werner Stejskal, to Jemsbooks’ blog segment, Interview an Author. It is nice to see you Werner. Welcome to Jemsbooks Blog family! Please share a little about yourself and your work with us.

WERNER STEJSKAL

PERTH, WA, AUSTRALIA

A SHORT BIO

Born in Vienna, Austria, Werner is now living in the paradise of Perth, Australia with his wife, two married children and three grandchildren. He worked in the printing industry for many years and later for the United Nations in Vienna. Now retired, after a full and eventful life, he began to write children’s stories. He found illustrators through Odesk, narrated them himself for YouTube and finally took the next step by publishing ebooks.

What is your latest book about, Werner?

Oliver and Jumpy”, are best of friends and experience many adventures together. Oliver is a black-and-white tomcat, who is very self-assured. As a matter of fact he says: “I love myself!” quite often. But his best friend Jumpy is aware that he is only putting up a front! Oliver has a soft heart and will always want to help others. The great thing is Jumpy’s pouch, which Oliver loves to ride in! He calls her his kangaroo taxi! This is the first book of an extensive series with 13 books so far and another 7 in the works.

(Cute stories, Werner, many of which I have read and reviewed.)

Who or what influenced you to write it?

There are lots of fairy tales and bedtime stories around and many of them are quite violent and unsuitable for young children. This made Werner decide to write something different. On a flight from Europe to Australia he watched the movie ‘Magic on Belle Island’ with Morgan Freeman, where Freeman teaches a little girl to have imagination and write her first story. This inspired Werner as well and the first stories with his two characters Oliver, the elegant tomcat, and Jumpy, his kangaroo lady friend, made their appearance.

Did you do any specialized research for your story?

There was no need to research for the stories, but rather to find illustrators and the right software for doing the books and YouTube clips.

What challenges did you face while writing the story?

I simply had to try thinking like a small child and imagine their reactions.

Could you provide a short passage from your book to give us a taster?

Jumpy's Secret

Excerpt of the first Story

Do you like cats? Yes? I am glad, because I am a black cat with a white top hat. I have a few white spots on my fur too. Mum is white, you see! My name is Oliver. I am a very elegant tomcat with the shiniest coat in the world. I brush my fur every morning and always keep my nails trimmed! Of course, my hat is really refined too, which is another word for elegant.

Whenever you put on your new clothes, you can announce to everybody, “I am refined!” And everybody will think you are an elegant person. Well, enough of all that talk about me, although I can never talk too much about myself. I really think I am a cool cat. I love myself! Do you think this is naughty? You are probably right, but I can’t help it.

My best friend’s name is Jumpy. You guessed it. She likes to jump a lot, because she is a kangaroo! She is a great girl and she lets me ride in her pouch! I get in and Jumpy jumps away and away! That’s a lot of fun. I bet you would like to ride in her pouch too, wouldn’t you? You are probably a bit too big. I am quite small, so it is OK. I love it, but after a while I need to rest. All that up and down makes me dizzy. It’s a bit like being on a roller coaster.

When you write, do you use some kind of formula?

I go through different scenarios of children’s stories and pick out one after the other.

How do you deal with writers-block?

I just pick a quiet spot, close my eyes and let my mind sail in the darkness. Eventually I can visualize an image which can become a story.

What is your process for editing your work?

After the initial draft, I let the story rest for a while and then revisit. I revise a couple of times before letting my editor have it. English is not my mother tongue, so I need help with the grammar. It is usually a case of shifting the words into a different order.

How do you come up with your book covers?

The covers are the first page of the picture book with title rather than text.

Do you think the book cover is important?

Sure, covers are important. But with a series it is a little different. A series needs brand recognition. I prefer to keep them simple, but recognizable. There are so many beautiful covers out there that one looks like the other. Just look at romance books! There is either a beautiful muscle man on the cover or a couple kissing. They are all generic! A series needs to be recognizable at a glance!

Which publishing platform do you prefer and why?

I prefer e-books on all e-book platforms. It is just so much simpler. Print-on-demand will be another option later on. If a publisher wants to bring my books into shops then I will look at that as well. I just don’t see any money in it here in Australia, where most chains have closed.

Do you face any daunting obstacles during the publishing process?

Sure, there is a lot of frustration on the way. Mainly the slow speed and incompetence of the all people involved. It is always a surprise if something works out properly. But that’s life! Expect the worst and be happy when things work out.

What methods do you use to promote your work?

Currently I am doing everything I can do to collect as many reviews as possible. This takes an enormous lot of time.

Do you have any advice for new authors?

Produce a good product and persevere with promotion. Nobody will do it as well as yourself!

Which social media platforms do you use the most?

I use Google+, Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, LinkedIn.

My website:

http://www.bedtimestory4you.com

My Amazon author’s page: (You will always find a free full-length book there and the free Introduction to the series)

http://www.amazon.com/Werner-Stejskal/e/B00NFANG58

Oliver and Jumpy at your service!

Meow !!! Click here for my website with all stories and movie clips and ebooks! Amazon Author’s Page: amazon.com/author/oliverandjumpy

Oliver & Jumpy

Here is my latest review of one of Werner’s books:

Oliver and Jumpy, Stories 16-18 are creative and fun for children of all ages. They are perfect stories to encourage children to use their imaginations when reading these unusual tales. As in all Oliver and Jumpy books, the characters do amazing things and get into all kinds of exciting adventures. The illustrations are beautifully done and will keep kids engaged in the stories.

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. I would recommend this book.

Thank you, Werner, for coming today. It has been a pleasure to get to know you and your books and share them with my readers.

Thank you, readers, for stopping by today to read about another wonderful author. Please go to Werner Stejskal’s links and check out his adorable and entertaining books.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES WINGS TO FLY!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missin g Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book and middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in adventure, author, Author Interviews, blogging, children's books, children's stories, Reading, Writing, Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Interview with Author Werner Stejskal!

  1. …nice review… good job:)

  2. wonderful interview Janice. I love his books as well and have reviewed most of them if not all.

  3. A delightful interview. Thanks Janice and Werner. 🙂

  4. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Another wonderful children’s author over at Janice Spina.. terrific covers too. Meet Werner Stejskal

  5. noelleg44 says:

    Lovely interview! Fun author!

  6. Great interview Janice. I look forward to reading some of Werner’s books. Love the illustrations.

  7. mihrank says:

    great interview – wonderful detailed and organized!

  8. Kev says:

    Great interview Janice!

Leave a Reply

