Interview with Author Tony A. Smith!

Tony A Smith

Please welcome Tony A. Smith, author and blogger, to my Interview an Author segment of Jemsbooks.

Please tell us something about yourself.

“I worked as a construction manager and developer in Texas and Michigan for many years and recently retired from AAA after a long time career there.  I have one daughter and have been married for thirty-three years to my sweetheart. I enjoy fishing and reading good books and currently make my home in the Broken Arrow, Oklahoma area. I enjoy writing good stories that people can learn something from and that will help them in their own life.

When did you know you wanted to be an author?

It was probably when I was in eighth grade. My eighth grade English teacher used to give us creative writing assignments and then she would pick certain papers to read aloud to the class.  She read a few of mine in class and I loved it when my friends admired what I had written. I also started writing letters to the editor ninth grade which were published in the Oklahoma City newspapers. I have just really enjoyed writing ever since I was a young boy.

What process do you use to write?

I usually start writing my stories by hand by utilizing spiral bound notebooks. It just seems like I can think a lot clearer when I use the notebooks. I start out with a basic outline in my mind and try to commit that to paper. I also try to gather any research information I may need for the book at that time. Then I use my basic notes, outline, and research and start the writing process on my computer. Once I start using the computer I plug in my headphones and listen to instrumental Christian music or something by Enya while typing out my stories. The words just seem like they flow better when I do that.

 Book Summaries

Oklahoma Ride Guideposts for Life

cover-oklahoma-ride-mc Tony Smith

Oklahoma Ride is a non-fiction memoir where I share stories about my life and growing up in my home state of Oklahoma primarily.  The stories are life lessons that I hope others can learn from.

Ride on Time Matters of the Heart

ride-on-time Tony Smith

 This a true book about the details of my widow-maker heart attack and what led up to that life changing day. In this book I share with others what I learned and some steps that they can take to prevent a similar event that may occur in their own life.

My Letters from the Heart

my-letters-from-the-heart-10 Tony Smith

 This is a non-fiction book written in the form of a series of letters to those people in my life who have had a significant impact.  My hope is to encourage others to do the same and to leave behind a legacy that will live on in the form of words after they are gone.

Teddy the Talking Cat

img_0424-teddy-the-talking-cat-tony-a-smith-final-final-green-last Tony Smith

 Teddy the Talking Cat is a children’s book written from Teddy’s perspective on life.  He shares how his family takes care of him and fun things he likes to do every single day.  Children learn a lot about cat care and what cats are like.

Cowgirl the Smiling Doggie

cowgirl-1-26-15-black-yellow-smiling-doggie Tony Smith

Cowgirl is a children’s book about a little smiling dachshund that loves her family.  She teaches children about the things dachshunds’ like to do like bark, sniff, run, jump, and smile.  She even teaches them a few German words along the way.

How do you come up with your ideas or stories for your books?

My ideas come from things that I have experienced in my own life, people I know, or have known that I might want to relate to others about.

What projects are you currently working on?

I have two projects I am working on now.  The first is a children’s book called “Katie the Kid Changer” which is about a little girl who wants to change the world in magnificent ways.

The other is a book of recipes and stories associated with by Italian father-in law who loved his family and loved to cook for his family.  The book will be called – “Papa’s Family Recipes”.

What do you expect to accomplish in 2015?

I hope to complete the two books I am working on in addition to several other children’s books that I have in mind.

Is there anything else you would like to share today?

I would just like to thank you, Janice, for allowing me to share a little about my life and books.  I believe that GOD has blessed each one of us with certain talents that we are to use and share with others.  I am thankful that he has given me this time and opportunity in my own life to be able to give back and to share.

Links to websites

http://tonyasmithauthor.com/    Tony A. Smith Books News and More

https://www.goodreads.com      Goodreads

www.amazon.de

www.amazon.fr

www.amazon.co.uk

www.amazon.com

 Links to purchase books

Oklahoma Ride Guideposts for Life    – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IJOASBA/

Ride on Time Matters of the Heart    – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MGXQUL2/

My Letters From the Heart                  – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00PX4CO66/

Teddy the Talking Cat                          – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00526OTX8/

Cowgirl the Smiling Doggie                 – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SZ63K40/

Thank you, Tony, for stopping by. It was a true pleasure to learn about you and your fascinating books.

Thank you, readers, for dropping in to read about another talented author and his work.  Please take some time and check out Tony’s books and websites. You will not be disappointed. He has a lot to offer and interest everyone.

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Thought for the day:  Spread a little kindness to those in need!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, blogging, children's books, Jemsbooks, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Interview with Author Tony A. Smith!

  1. Another wonderful interview, Janice. These look like outstanding books for everyone. Thanks for sharing the interview and information with us.

  2. Marvelous interview and wonderful introduction to Tony A. Smith and his books. 🙂

  3. I love these interviews…thank you so much. Janet:)

Leave a Reply

