Interview with Author Jonas Lee!

jonas002

Please welcome author Jonas Lee to Jemsbooks’ blog segment, Author Interview. It is a pleasure to have you here, Jonas. Let’s get right to your interview.

Please tell us a little about yourself and how you first became interested in writing?

My name is Jonas Lee, I’m a rather new Indie artist from the Black Hills of South Dakota. I have loved writing stories since I was in the fourth grade. Mostly back then it was copying and mimicking the movies I had just watched. With that in my rather crude writer’s kit, I would create scenarios with GI Joes and whatever other toys I still had lying around. Many brave Joes fell victim to my plot lines. Now, I currently hold a full time job, help coach U14 girls’ softball and love getting out for hikes and walks with my wife. My almost 14 year old daughter is quickly catching up to me in height which wouldn’t be bad if I wasn’t 6’1″ tall. We all love spending time together and watching movies, playing games and laughing as often as our bellies allow.

What inspires you to write?

Inspirations for my books generally come out of anywhere. This series started off as fan fiction from A Time Traveler’s Wife and after the first chapter, gained a mind of its own. Other books I have started or outlined generally have a component bordering on religion, science and the magic connecting them. Above all, writing something new (a different take) is what usually gets me going.

Time to Reap Jonas Lee

Please share your book/books with us and a synopsis of one or more.

A Time to Reap It’s a YA story that revolves around the perspective of Carter Gabel, a teenager who has a common genetic disorder in the future. He spontaneously travels back into time. Like a hiccup, the leap into the past can occur anywhere and at any time. Carter attends a school for people who suffer with his similar condition along with anyone who may have been affected by the disorder in their family as a way to cope and understand. Along with Carter and the children of Leapers, there are Eventuals, those who possess telepathy to some degree. Carter finds himself in a situation where he saves a girl in his class from a burning car and in doing so exposes an unknown trait that he was unaware Leapers had. From there, it’s a chase trying to elude authority figures from his school and the Program, the government organization who looks over people with abilities. Pages will fly by as you learn more about Carter and his family and Mo, the girl he saves. His sarcastic and rambunctious way of making decisions will keep you wondering what’s next. A Time to Live The sequel to A Time to Reap, a new setting for Carter puts him in Temple Falls on the western coast of the country. Events leading up to his departure make it impossible to return to his home town until the proverbial dust has settled. Unfortunately, a family member in trouble causes Carter to venture back to his hometown of Lincoln Square in order to prevent a terrorist group of his own kind that are looking to unleash devastation on the normal citizens that reside there. Carter meets up with a string of new characters who have all been crafting their raw talents into unique abilities like osmatic learning, telekinesis, audible psychosis and pyrokinesis to name a few. Lines will be drawn and soon good and evil will have a blurred line into who is doing the right thing and who is sacrificing for the greater good.

Which one is your favorite and why?

That’s kind of like asking which child do you like more. I’ll always have that place in my heart for my first, A Time to Reap, it was fun and more humorous in spots than its sequel. But that sequel, it has more characters, focus and (in my humble opinion) better writing. I learn so much about style and format that I didn’t realize before, so each new manuscript gets better and more appreciated I think.

Where do you prefer to write? With music or without?

I like writing in front of a computer. Laptops are great, but there is something about hearing the clickety-clack of the keys that makes it more solidified for me. I always have something playing, usually some melodic dubstep to drown out the need for lyrics, but conveys emotions needed for my characters.

What do you like to do in your spare time, when you have it?

When I find the time, I love reading and watching movies. When it’s not freezing outside, my wife and I enjoy taking walks and going on hikes. Exploring our own backyard with the Black Hills and trying new restaurants and cuisine comes in a close second.

What is your favorite genre? Do you write in multiple genres?

I think I rotate a lot around the supernatural/sci-fi/fantasy area. There is so much creativity and unique ideas nestled in there that I could wade in there forever. Above all, good writing is good writing, no matter what genre.

I try to dip into multiple genres just because I think mixing fantasy with sci-fi is a winning combo. In some aspect, I think every new writer is trying to pull in aspects of other genres for the same purpose, to keep readers on their toes.

What is your target audience?

Target audience is set towards young adult. I try to write well from that perspective for this series, but in all I think it’s made for anyone from 13 to 70. I have had people in that entire bracket give me their opinion and they enjoy one thing or another if not the entirety.

Please share your latest project or next one?

Currently, I am working on the start of a new series I hope to begin releasing in the Summer time. It’ll break past the YA audience I’m starting with right now and dive into more of a paranormal/post-apocalyptic/fantasy world. It’ll work with the idea of a disrupted America, but also work in areas of science, magic and religion making it a nice powder keg of possibilities. I will be starting the groundwork of the final Carter Gabel book in the coming weeks. Also, I orchestrate a small Write Club (shameless plug: http://writeclubfightclub.com ) where people face off against each other with short stories. It’s loads of fun seeing what people can come up with and the rules that they can set for themselves.

Can you give new writers/authors any advice?

My best advice is to keep patient, persistent and passionate. Once one of those leave the scenario, your writing days are numbered. Oh, and spend the time getting people to help with the main things like cover, editing and formatting.

Is there anything else you would like to share?

I’d leave with encouragement for anyone on the fence about publishing a book, heck, writing a book. Just finish one thing at a time. Start with one good sentence, than a paragraph. Get one chapter written and then another. Before you know it, you’ll uncover the story inside of you and once it’s done, nothing will describe the feeling. From there, if you want to explore publishing, research and read what other people are doing and trying. You’ll find the path that’s right for you whether traditional or Indie. Above all else, make sure you aren’t writing for the money. Nothing good comes from writing (or working in general) with that principle in mind.

Please share your links to purchase and social links to contact you.

Facebook

Twitter

Blog

Goodreads

BOOKS:

Amazon – A Time to Reap

Amazon – A Time to Live

Thank you, Jonas, for stopping by. Please keep in touch because you are now part of the Jemsbooks’ family. I like to keep in touch with all my guests to see  how they are doing. If you have anything new later to add please let me know so I can update your interview. It was a pleasure to have you here and to get to know you and your fascinating books.

Thank you, readers, for stopping in to read about another wonderful author. Please check out Jonas’ books online and please, when you purchase an author’s book, don’t forget to leave a review! We authors just love to hear feedback from our readers. It helps us to become better writers when we understand what our readers are looking for in books.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, fantasy, Jemsbooks, Reading, sci-fi, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview with Author Jonas Lee!

  1. mihrank says:

    wow – a wonderful, detailed, excellent interview – so very much interesting questions and energetic! I hope I will enjoy and have the honor to join your interview!

    Here is my new melody tribute to my parents!!

    https://kmihran.wordpress.com/2015/01/18/mihran-kalaydjian-playing-tribute-to-my-parents-melody/

  2. Hello, Jonas Lee. Nice to meet you. I’ve enjoyed this compact, no-nonsense interview. Bravo. 🙂

  3. Jonas Lee says:

    Reblogged this on Jonas Lee's Imaginarium and commented:
    A few questions about me you might like to see the answers to!

Leave a Reply

