Interview with Author Viv Drewa!

Viv Drewa

 

Please help me welcome talented author and blogger, Viv Drewa, who is a lovely lady. She has been very kind and generous with her time not only to me but to many other authors by re-blogging about our books on her own blog.

1. Please tell us something about yourself. When did you know that you wanted to be an author?

When I was 9. I was an avid reader and after reading all the Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books I came across one that made a huge impact on me. It’s “The Whistling Sword” by James Robert Green. It was amazing! Out of all the books I read in my youth that is the only one I remember clearly.

2. What process do you need in order to write?

I use a screenwriter’s technique; the “What if….”.After I get my idea set up there I start doing the research I need. Next I develop the characters, and finally write the book.

 

3. Please share your books with us and a synopsis of each.

Sipan Lord Viv Drewa

Martin and Clare Montgomery worked as an archaeological team until Martin’s accidental death at a dig they were working on in Peru. Clare swore she’d never go back, but after having a dream about the dig that didn’t add up to the finds of the area. She was aided by the help of the Peruvian Pygmy and a blue-eyed spirit. But would they discover the answer and survive.

Angler and the Owl Viv

For 25 years France Hunter has been studying owls, and has discovered five new species around the world. Her work has kept her busy and she never had time for a relationship. She travels with Jason “Doc” Bradley, a former paramedic, and his cousins Tony and Andy Bradley. Now, on her last outing she is joined by a magazine writer, Cathy Birch, and a world famous angler, John Sinclair, who has also dedicated his life to his field. As the small caravan travels to the Amazon River France falls and severely injures her left arm. Against Doc’s recommendation to turn back, she pushes on. This is her last trip and she wants to go to the place where she found her first new owl. While fishing a blue-ringed owl lands on John’s canoe and looks down the river to where France’s group is, and then looks back at him. This alerts John. He gets the satellite phone and tries to reach her to no avail. He decides the fishing can wait and, with Mark in another canoe, begin the journey back to France. At France’s camp two jaguars attack one of the boatmen severing his left leg. The other two boatmen, they all have rifles, shoot at the jaguars killing one. The other escapes with the boatman’s leg. Doc and the others wake to the noise and he and Tony go to where the boatmen are camping. In the ruckus the canoes become untied and go eastward down the shore and the sat phone is destroyed. Now they have no way to get help and will have to wait for John’s team to come back, which could take three or four more days. Will help get there in enough time?

Viv Drews True Story

This is the true story of my grandfather’s escape from Russian occupied Poland in 1913. How he managed to get through all the dangerous situations, and at one point almost didn’t make it, has me in awe of his bravery even to today.

Jawbreakers 1 Viv Jawbreakers 2 Viv Jawbreakers Christmas Viv
These are a collection of short stories by various authors. This book is designed to help authors get recognition for their work.

I did not have a story for the third issue, but will be in the fourth.

4.  How do you come up with ideas for your stories?

Different ways really. Sometimes I hear about something, see or read about something and it triggers a story.

For “The Owl of the Sipan Lord” I was reading about an archaeologist and started planning the story.

5. What projects are you currently working on?

My WIP is a paranormal murder mystery. I should be done in April.

I got the idea for this one from something I saw on Facebook. “Legend says, when you can’t sleep at night, it’s because you’re awake in someone else’s dream.”   Really got the creative juices going. Lol!

6. What do you expect to accomplish in 2015?

Finish my WIP and either work on the next one in that series, or another one I’ve been thinking about. Also contribute more short stories to “Ashtrays to Jawbreakers.”

7. Please share your links and where to purchase your books.

“The Owl of the Sipan Lord”

Amazon

“The Angler and the Owl”

Amazon

s & Noble   

Books-A-Million  

“From the Pages of Grandfather’s Life”

Amazon  

PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING BOOKS ARE ALWAYS FREE:

“Ashtrays to Jawbreakers; A June Project” Book 1

Smashwords.com 

“Ashtrays to Jawbreakers; A June Project”   Book 2

Smashwords

“Ashtrays to Jawbreakers; A June Project”   Christmas Edition

 Smashwords

 8. Is there anything else you would like to share?

 When you read my books, or just their titles, you’ll notice I have owls in them. I’ve loved owls my whole life and decided to celebrate them in my books.

I’m also fascinated with South America, particularly the Amazon River. All but my current work takes place there. I wasn’t able to find out much about the police procedures there to make the book work so I’m using my local.

Thank you so much, Janice, for doing my interview!

Here are my links:

Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter

Youtube

Amazon

Pinterest

Google+

Thank you, Viv. It was a pleasure to have you on my blog today to share your lovely books. Also, I want to thank you for all that you do to promote me and my books. It means a lot to me to have a friend like you supporting me. It is a tough road when it comes to promoting oneself and finding a niche out there amongst millions of other books.

I picked up a copy of your The Owl of the Sipan Lord and plan to read it as soon as I can. I will post a review on Amazon and Goodreads.

Thank you, readers, for stopping by to read about this lovely author. Please go to her links and check out her amazing books. If you purchase any author’s books please remember to leave a review for them where you purchased the books. It means a lot to authors and helps to get their books out there for others to enjoy.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Blessings!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Jemsbooks, Novel, Reading, short story, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Interview with Author Viv Drewa!

  1. Wonderful and informative interview. Busy, busy writer.

  2. nesaauthor says:

    Nice review….congrats Viv!

  3. davidprosser says:

    Viv is such a kind and generous person. I wish her well with the new book and with all the current ones too.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

  4. olganm says:

    Great interview. Viv is indeed a very generous blogger and fellow writer and I also share her love of owls. Her book is also on my list to read.

  5. Elle Knowles says:

    Wonderful! Loved this.

  6. So nice to get to know Viv better. Hugs!

  7. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    An interview with Viv Drewa by Janice Spina on her terrific site Jemsbooks for readers and writers alike.

  8. Great interview. Learned so much about Viv and her books! 🙂 Shared

Leave a Reply

