Interview with Author Chris Tucker!

 

Chris Tucker

Welcome to my blog segment, Interview an Author – today I have the sincere pleasure to introduce a talented author and blogger, Chris Tucker.

Thank you, Chris for visiting today.

First off, I just wanted to say Thank You for having me. I really appreciate it!

  1. When did you first realize that you wanted to be a writer and author?

From my early teens, I have thought about the possibility of writing a book. I have always loved reading and have always done some form of writing whether it’s musical lyrics or just jotting random stuff down. I was living in Hawaii a few years ago and I decided to finally start putting an actual story together. That was my first sense of wanting to be an actual author.

2. When did you write your first book? Publish?

I started writing “Lost Voyage” back in 2001 while living in Hawaii. It would be 13 years later before I would publish it in April, 2014. I initially began writing a different book but came up with the idea for LV and went with that story. In April of 2002 my son was born and the book had to be put on hold. Around January of 2011, I picked it back up again and was able to devote the time to finishing it.

3. Please share your books with me and my readers and give a synopsis of each.

My first novel is “Lost Voyage”. It starts out in 1857, where a steamship goes missing during a storm with a valuable cargo on board. For over 150 years, her whereabouts are unknown until one day she is discovered lying beneath the floor of the Nicaraguan jungle.

Sean Mercer and NESA (National Environmental Security Agency) are in Nicaragua studying the effects of water pollution that are wreaking havoc on local communities. What they uncover is more sinister and deadly than just the threat of tainted water. Mass genocide, brutal dictatorship, and a country living in fear of its own leaders is just the beginning of what Sean and his team must put an end to before it’s too late.

When knowledge of a ship with a priceless cache surfaces, two sides struggle to uncover the mystery of how and why the lost ship came to be buried so far from sea, and what exactly it is that lies beneath the dense forest floor.

Now, it’s a race against time stop the bloodshed, find the ship, and retrieve the valuable cargo before Mercer and NESA become victims themselves.

If it sounds appealing and you think you would enjoy it (trust me, you will most definitely enjoy it), you can get your copy by clicking here…

http://www.amazon.com/Lost-Voyage-Chris-Tucker/dp/1497503698/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1398108576&sr=8-1&keywords=chris+tucker+lost+voyage

Lost Voyage

4. What do you expect to accomplish with your books?

I would love to be able to make a living off of writing books that people love to read. I hope that my readers are able to connect with the story and have as much fun reading them as I do writing them. I have a blast putting these stories on paper and I find myself getting totally immersed into the plotlines. I love my characters and I hope that all of you do as well.

5. What is your favorite genre?

My favorite genre to read is the same one I write in – action/suspense/mystery/thriller. I love being taken on an action packed thrill ride adventure when I read. Clive Cussler is my favorite author (and huge influence on my writing style) and it is those kinds of books that grab me. You know you have a great book in front of you when you can’t put it down.

6. You have a wonderful blog. Please share what you write about. What is your philosophy?

My blog is just a place where I post random thoughts, ideas, talk about the characters in my books, and sometimes rant about various subjects. I like to post topics that I hope readers can learn from and use to further themselves as indie authors. I received an amazing compliment from a woman that said my blog inspired her. That is truly the greatest feeling in the world to be able to reach out and connect with someone on that level. I also post random quirky posts from time to time about my favorite movies, TV shows, and other fun stuff. I like to get others engaged in the conversation too that may not be authors and are looking for a pretty cool blog to visit from time to time. You can check out my blog here if you would like. Would be happy to have you along for the ride…

http://christuckerbooks.wordpress.com/

7. What do you do in your spare time besides writing?

Wait…writers get spare time? Why did I not know of this?

I am a dad, first and foremost. Yea, I’m the bad mamma jamma author you will all grow to love (hopefully), but raising my boy is the most important thing I have ever done with my life. I spend a lot of time hanging with him and learning about being an amazing dad. He teaches me quite a bit.

I am a proud member of Red Sox Nation and am glued to my television during all games (I am so grateful for the MLB ticket). I love to hike through the Rocky Mountains, camp, golf, take my pup to the park, take random drives into the mountains, and a bunch of other stuff.

8. What inspires you to write?

My son is my biggest inspiration. I want something more for him. I write with the hopes of being able to do it full time and enjoy more of life with him.

My readers are also a huge inspiration to me. It is so humbling to get those great reviews and to hear that people like what I have written. I received a hand-written letter in the mail from a woman who purchased a signed copy of my book through my website. I have never met her, but she used the return address on the envelope and took the time to write to me and tell me how much the book meant to her in that it made her laugh and cry while reading it.

I also received what I perceived to be the biggest compliment of all when another reader compared my book to the likes of Clive Cussler. It’s those kinds of emotions that make me realize that I may actually have a talent for this. If that doesn’t inspire you, then I don’t know what will.

9. How do you come up with ideas for your novels?

I actually do a ton of research before I even type the first words of my books. My ideas usually come from something that has happened in the past (real events) or current events and then I tie that event into what my fictitious characters are currently doing. In Lost Voyage, NESA is in Nicaragua performing research when they find out about a ship that went missing 150 years ago. Here is how I came up with the idea….

I was in the Honolulu library one day and I came across a book on tape called Ship of Gold. I read the back cover and that’s when the idea for “Lost Voyage” came to me. I used the real story to come up with a fictitious one. It’s all about what-ifs with me. What if so-and-so happened and what if so-and-so scenario took place? That’s how I develop my storyline.

10. Do your readers influence your writing?

My readers don’t necessarily influence my writing, but you gotta give them what they want. A writer has to be able to keep readers coming back, but they also need to remember that they must write for themselves. If you aren’t happy with what you are writing and you are constantly changing things to appease every reader’s suggestions, then you won’t be happy with your product. And neither will anyone else.

I love hearing what my readers think about my books. Luckily for me, so far it has been all great feedback and I think I am giving them what they want (let’s just hope that trend continues). You aren’t going to please every reader out there. The key is to not let that affect the way you write your book.

11. Where would you live if you could move anywhere in the world?

As long as it’s near the water, I am good. Growing up on the east coast and living in Hawaii, California, Seattle and other beachside cities, I have a great appreciation for the ocean. I will be moving to Florida in a few years and as far as I know they have quite a bit of beach front property out there. Did I mention I love the ocean?

12. Where do you see yourself in ten years?

No idea to be honest. I would love to be able to have made it as a successful author and be able to write books full time. Golfing 2 or 3 times a week sounds like a good plan or maybe still playing music in some form. I’ll be 50 at that point. The bright side of that is that I will still be acting like I’m 21. No matter where life takes you in 10 years, it’s all about what you do to get there and have as much fun as you can doing it.

Thank you, Chris, for visiting today.  It was a pleasure to learn more about you and your books.

Thank you, readers, for stopping by. Please check out Chris’ wonderful blog and books.

Blessings.

-Janice

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Novel, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Interview with Author Chris Tucker!

  1. Great interview Janice (and I see you’ve got your widgets working) 😀

  2. nesaauthor says:

    Reblogged this on christuckerbooks and commented:
    Thank you so much for this, Janice Spina. Had a lot of fun answering these questions!

  3. Hehe it made me giggle when he said what writers actually get spare time?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

