Guest Post by Author Marie Lavender

Marie Lavender

Please help me welcome author Marie Lavender to my Guest Post Segment of Jemsbooks Blog.  It is a pleasure to have you here, Marie. Please share your story about your books and writing.

I started writing at the age of nine as I had a pretty big imagination. Often I could be found acting out my stories with dolls and such.  Eventually, I transitioned into writing them down.  The first book I wrote was for Mrs. Davis’ third grade English class and it was titled The Mystery of the Golden Chair.  Of course, I would never publish it at this point, but you could say I learned a lot from that attempt.

In school, I preferred English Literature or Creative Writing classes over Math and Science. With the exception of some other subjects like Choir and Psychology, I was totally obsessed with writing.  Of course, I had interests outside of school as well.  I always came back to writing, however.  My journal was the one place I could go to and find absolute freedom.

Fast forward to college and I majored in Creative Writing to further develop this interest. While at university, I was a copy editor for an online journal.  I also published two stories in a university publication, Writing Out of the Margins.

After graduating in 2005, I pursued my dream of getting a book published. I had one novel in progress, but it was nowhere near ready yet.  That was about the time that self-publishing was really taking off.  In 2010, I decided to try my hand at it and I released my first book, Express Café and Other Ramblings, a literary fiction and poetry anthology.  In subsequent years, I released two more collections of poetry and fiction. In 2012, I decided to try full on books.  I released eleven books under the pen name Erica Sutherhome and one under the name Kathryn Layne. All of these were contemporary romance, romantic suspense or mystery/thriller books.

The year 2012 was an excellent year, in fact. It was also the year that Summer Solstice Publishing accepted my first historical romance, Upon Your Return, for contract. Upon Your Return was then published in February of 2013. The book earned bestseller status on Amazon in September of 2013.

On top of that, I earned the Liebster Blogger Award for that year. Other awards – top 50 Authors status on AuthorsDB.com and the winner of the Great One Liners Contest on the Directory of Published Authors.  In November of 2013, I released another book under the pen name Erica Sutherhome; it a romantic suspense titled Leather and Lace.

This year was also pretty great! I was a finalist and runner-up in the MARSocial’s Author of the Year Competition, had honorable mention in the January 2014 Reader’s Choice Award and I received the Liebster Blogger Award for 2014.  In March, I released a new book, Magick & Moonlight. It is a romance with some fantasy elements.  In late April, Upon Your Honor, the second book of the Heiresses in Love Series was released.

Since then, I have been lucky enough to earn a contract by Solstice Shadows Publishing for a paranormal romance/urban fantasy novella titled Second Nature. This book will be part of the Blood at First Sight Series.  I also recently finished the sequel to Magick & Moonlight, and that is titled A Little Magick. It is a children’s fantasy story.  I am also currently working on the last book of the Heiresses in Love Series, Upon Your Love.

My books through Solstice Publishing can be found on the publisher’s website, on Amazon and CreateSpace. My self-published books can be found on Lulu.com and Amazon. All 19 books are listed in full on my website at http://marielavender.com/about/my-books/

Blurbs for my last four books (most recent to oldest) are included below:

Upon Your Honor

Upon Your Honor (book two of the Heiresses in Love Series)

Deception is a dangerous path… New York City, August, 1891 – Orphaned after the death of her father, Chloe Waverly stows away on La Voyageur to escape the clutches of her cruel fiancé, Lamonte Beckett. Gabriel Hill, a strange and compelling gentleman, comes upon Chloe and promises to protect her without knowing the true circumstances of why she is running away. During their journey, Gabriel doesn’t bargain on being distracted by her fair beauty or succumbing to her many charms. As their attraction to each other grows, so does the danger and Gabriel suspects things are not as they should be. Both are determined to get to New Orleans, where she can start a new life. But, once they reach their destination, events spin out of their control and Chloe is captured by the fiancé she escaped. Gabriel is left wondering if he can overlook her betrayal. Soon he finds himself in a race against time, to reach her before Beckett can exact revenge.

Magick and Moonlight

Magick & Moonlight

Messing with free will is always a bad idea… Ethan Hamilton moves to a lazy little town in Oregon, hoping to escape his demons. But, instead he discovers a woman dancing nude in the moonlight. This woman who claims she is a witch dazzles him with her sensual presence. He thinks she’s crazy, but what if she’s not? Jessie Anderson has been taught that her kind hides who they really are. And she has a problem on her hands. Someone knows her secret and she has to do all she can to protect herself. What other choice does she have? Jessie casts a love spell on a good man, a man with whom she can’t fight her attraction. The spell doesn’t work quite as planned – she ends up falling for Ethan. To top it off, Ethan’s treatment of her, his “love”, is so addictive. Deep down, she knows the spell will wear off, and yet his feelings seem genuine. It’s just a spell…right?

LeatherandLace1

Leather & Lace

When Detective Dreyling sees Evangeline Lewis standing over a dead body, his whole life changes. Determined to not only find out what she knows about the crime but also to make her his, he will go to any lengths, even bribe her boss, to have more time with her. Angie fights the overwhelming desire she feels for Patrick, but there are some things in this world you can’t fight. There are rare kinds of attraction. No matter how much she tries to keep her heart from him, she can’t help the feelings that strike her. What makes it all harder is the secret she keeps from him, the reason she has put herself in some pretty bad situations. Can she come clean with him in time or will the lie destroy any chance they have at happiness?

UponYourReturn_E-bookCover

Upon Your Return (book one of the Heiresses in Love Series)

Fara Bellamont has been back in society for a year after leaving Cluny Abbey, where her uncle sent her long ago. When he chooses a suitor for her for marriage, she fears that she will be forced to marry a stranger and live a miserable life. But, Fara finds herself thrust into an adventure of a lifetime when unforeseen circumstances cause her to place her trust in a strange man for protection. His intervention not only saves her, but puts her in an even more compromising position. Grant Hill, a trading captain, is enchanted by the young heiress not only because of her beauty, but because she is hardly conventional. Underneath her ladylike exterior lies a tigress. Grant cannot help but offer his protection as she is in need and he is far from immune from her charms. Fara just never bargained on the passion that she feels for Grant Hill. As events unfold, she must decide whether her desires and the dictates of her heart should trump the rules of society…

Author Links

http://marielavender.com/

http://iloveromanceblog.wordpress.com/

http://marielavenderbooks.blogspot.com/

http://marielavender.blogspot.com/

https://www.facebook.com/marie.lavender.58

https://www.facebook.com/MarieAnnLavender

https://twitter.com/marielavender1 https://plus.google.com/u/0/104926404745289477307/posts http://www.linkedin.com/pub/marie-lavender/27/187/10a https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6938764.Marie_Lavender http://authorsdb.com/authors-directory/1578-marie-lavender http://www.pw.org/content/marie_lavender

http://www.amazon.com/Marie-Lavender/e/B00C10Q94I/ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJu8HjRVYCFOqcIoX6ZxdqQ/videos

Thank you, Marie, for doing a Guest Post today. It was interesting to hear about your adventures in writing and publishing. I wish you all the best with your writing and continued success with your books. I am now a follower on your links and will check out your books soon.

Thank you readers for stopping by to read about Marie Lavender and her lovely books. Please stop by her links and check them out.

If you are an author, illustrator and/or publisher and would like to do a Guest Post here please contact me at jjspina@myfairpoint.net.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Blessings to all!

-Janice-

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missin g Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book and middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in book reviews and publishing, children's books, comtemporary romance, poetry, Romantic suspense/thriller, Writing, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Guest Post by Author Marie Lavender

  1. mihrank says:

    great and amazing details and composition!

  2. Great interview Janice, very interesting. I like Romantic novels just wish I had more time for reading.

  3. Reblogged this on I Love Romance Blog and commented:
    Check out my guest post on Jems Books Blog!

  4. Pingback: Guest Post by Author Marie Lavender | MARSocial Author Business Enhancement group's Blog

  5. Sydney says:

    Great interview will have to check out some of the books

  6. jjspina says:

    Happy you enjoyed Marie’s post. She did a good job. I am sure you don’t have enough time to do much after your busy schedule. Thanks for stopping by,

  7. jeff7salter says:

    Wow … it wore me out just reading your list of titles and honors. What a fast-paced career for someone so young! Congratulations on all your successes.
    I’m a poet also, by the way. In fact, when I took an early retirement from my library job, I thought I would write poetry full-time. Little did I know there were novels inside of me, just waiting for retirement before they emerged!

  8. Thank you for following my blog. Enjoyed Marie’s guest post.

Leave a Reply

