Interview with Author Kyle Robertson

Kyle's profile

Please extend a warm welcome to author, Kyle Robertson.  Thank you, Kyle, for stopping by today to visit with me and my readers.

Hi Janice. This is surreal for a guy like me. I mean people actually being interested in me. You’ve granted me an amazing accolade, thank you. I would like to link my blog site with yours if you grant permission, and there’s a possibility. Okay, here I go.

1. Please tell us a little about yourself and how you became interested in writing.

I was born in Baton Rouge Louisiana on January 1st 1970. When I was three my parents moved us up to Milwaukee Wisconsin because of the job market. I grew up in the frigid land in the Great Lakes. Being an only child, and an extrovert forced my sociability. I made friends in school, and a few in the neighborhood.

Back in the 70s and 80s, gangs were a big problem. I was smart enough to avoid that dangerous seduction for an only child, because I had amazing parents.

I had friends here and there, but I didn’t acquire a real friend until high school. Jeff Gizewski became a strong influence in my life. He drew like I did. He liked the same movies I did, and made up stories the same as I. We wanted to be Marvel comic book artists. We thought that we could get our own titles, and draw them as well. Being a teenager clouded us from how the business world worked so reality showed us the truth.

We kept our dream of being great entertainers alive, but after high school, I went into the military, and Jeff got a normal job. Making a living was more immediate than designing your life. Dreams had to be put on hiatus for a while.

I ended up doing sales for most of my life. I ended up learning useless things about home electronics, luxury cars, and home maintenance equipment. I was a manager of a computer store, and made a decent living for my children.

After working like a dog, disaster happened. I was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. I think the affliction was hereditary, and chugging those 2 liters of Mountain Dew to stay awake for more than 16 hour days didn’t help.

I found out that Diabetes is a slow killer and that it ushered you to the terminal quicker. I was maintaining fine until I was driving to work one day, felt funny, and parked on the side of the street.

I blacked out on a Monday, and woke up in a hospital Thursday with incredibly blurry eyes. It turned out that I had two Grand Mal seizures, and also had 50 mini strokes in my eyes. I haven’t seen clearly since 2005.

I still thought I could work, so I tried to continue, but having battleship sized floaters in my sight hindered driving. My work days were over.

I went through many surgeries to try to save my sight. I can see, but not clear enough to drive or work. Look through greasy Saran Wrap. That’s how I see things now.

Since my making a living thing  dissolved, designing my life came back from its sojourn, and I began writing to fight off the depression, I’ve been doing that ever since.

2. What is your favorite genre to read and write about? 

I love reading science fiction, people like Clarke, Asimov, and Dick. My love is sci-fi also.

3. When did you write your first book? Publish it? 

The first book that I wrote was about a mythical bounty hunter. It’s called A Hunter’s Blood. It was written in 2007, and published in 2008, but I wasn’t with the correct company, so it never sold. Since I have all the rights, I’ll resubmit it probably before the end of the year.

4. Please share your books and a synopsis of each.

terroronarrival

Terror on Arrival: An Apocalyptic Science Fiction Novel

Valan-Cheanus was a planet billions of light-years away from Earth. It had a problem, an indigenous, insidious eating machine called the Chauzek. This creature was legion, and was poised to render the planet barren. The native Cheasu did not kill them. Instead, they relocated them to our planet back when there wasn’t much more than primordial ooze, and didn’t know what, if anything would exist there. They put the creatures in suspended gravity so whatever evolved would be advanced enough to either evict, or escape them. Their calculations were slightly off. In the twenty-first century they woke up, and a U.S. Air Force Aqua Horticulturist with her Russian Spetsnaz bodyguard had to find a way to stop them. Along with her deft mentor, and an alien from Valan-Cheanus who wanted to correct the future dystopia, they had to find a way to stop the relentless Chauzek that couldn’t be killed. This is an adventure to try to stop Armageddon. But the question is; how?

The Final Option: A Science Fiction Novel about ArmageddomThe Final Option

The planet has been doomed ever since the humans arrived. During our time, debauchery has come to a head. These will be our last days if something doesn’t change… Geogyn Kai may be our only hope. Constructed out of alien technology, he has a relentless determination to complete every task, no matter how impossible it may seem. He was an operative for the American government, but has a higher power to answer to. This is the tale of Armageddon.

Those are the stories. I hope that they are interesting. I’m getting another book edited for next month called Spark of Dawn: The Female Yakuza. It’s a tale of a woman being chased by her underground clan while she’s trying to save those same brothers that are trying to kill her. It should be interesting.

The Platinum Retriever: The Story of Earth’s Unexpeced Savior theplatinumretrievert(9)

Daedalus Platinum is a private investigator for neglected children because he never got the privilege of growing up with his parents. There’s an insidious force planning to conquer the planet, and Daedalus gets drawn in on the case with the help of two detectives on a mission.

5. How do you come up with ideas for your stories? 

They’re always nuggets of information to expound upon. I write about what I like and study things I don’t know that sound interesting. My imagination is warped enough to make a story intriguing.

6. What inspires you to write? 

Not being able to work anymore, and having ideas trying to escape the padded cell that is my mind.

7. What is your favorite place to write and create your stories? 

My stories span time, and space. I challenge myself to learn a location I never knew and become an edutainment writer.

8. Do you need complete silence or do you like to listen to music when you write? 

I listen to music when I write. Music gives you certain feelings when you write. Gustav Holst makes me feel aggressive when I write a scene, while Trent Reznor makes me feel dark. I’m very eclectic when I write.

9. What new projects are you working on now? 

My son is Autistic, so I’m writing a story about an Autistic scientist. It has that Kyle flair to it and strewn with NSA operatives, Samoan cleaners, and Maori warriors.

10. If you could travel anywhere in the world where would you go? 

I want to go to Russia. That culture is deep, and aberrant to me.

11. Where do you see yourself in ten years? 

I see myself doing stories about things that my fans suggest. Sometimes your imagination well runs dry.

12. What do you want to accomplish with your writing? 

I want people to escape reality for a few hours. I want them to have an emotional response to my characters. I want people to feel my stories.

13. Please share your links where my readers can contact you and where to purchase your books.

https://www.amazon.com/author/kylerobertson_fiction

Blog http://pimiebooks.com/

Thank you for visiting today, Kyle. It was such a pleasure to get to know you and your books.  So sorry to hear of your troubles but relieved to hear that you have found solace in writing.  You are certainly a creative and fascinating author to watch. Please feel free to stop by again to share any new projects you may have.

Thanks for the exposure, Janice. You’re very magnanimous, altruistic, and benevolent in your actions.

It was my pleasure, Kyle.

Thank you, readers, for stopping by.  Please check out Kyle’s books.

I recently read Kyle’s book, Platinum Retriever.  Here is my review on Amazon.

An unusual premise with a different kind of hero, Daedalus Platinum, The Platinum Retriever, is an enjoyable sci-fi/crime/adventure. It is like nothing I have ever read. The author has created a fascinating story where nothing is normal, the people, half aliens and the main character, the hero who fights to the finish. He writes the story as a diary of sorts by Daedalus who relates his day-to-day encounters with aliens, unsavory characters, and murderers as he assists the police force in apprehending the perpetrators.

This is Book 1 of many more adventures to come. I was given this book for an honest and unbiased review. I found it to be an entertaining romp. I would recommend this book to sci-fi lovers out there.

Remember: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Thanks for reading!

-Janice-

 

 

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book, middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming next year. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

