Meet My Main Character Blog Tour

I’ve been tagged by a talented, inspiring  and extraordinary person, author and blogger, artist and defender of all wildlife, Jo Robinson , to take part in a Meet My Main Character Blog Tour. I am truly honored and humbled.

You need to visit Jo’s amazing blog with gorgeous photos and fascinating posts that will take your breath away.

The rules of this tour are to answer some questions about the main character in a work in progress, and then tag authors who you admire to join the hop if they want to.

The Questions:

1. What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person?

Mariah is a fictional person who is the main character. Everything in the story revolves around her.  She is a strong young woman who finds herself tested in every way by life and family and her first love.  This is my first novel to be published.

2. When and where is the story set?

The story is set in present time in different settings, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, in fictional cities.

3. What should we know about him/her?

Mariah is 18 years old and in her first year of college when she suffers from memory loss due to a traumatic incident.

4. What is the main conflict? What messes up his/her life?

The main conflict is that Mariah can’t remember what has happened to bring her to a psychiatric hospital. She must work to get her memory back in order to save her life and those of others close to her.

Unbeknownst to her, she is being hunted by a deranged killer.

5. What is the personal goal of the character?

Mariah’s goal is to regain her memory and control of her life and possibly save her own life in the process.

6. Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

Hunting Mariah is the title and a sample will be shared on my blog at a later date. Here is a copy of the cover created by my husband, John Spina, who has illustrated all my children’s books.

Mariah5-3_edited-2

7. When can we expect the book to be published?

I plan to publish sometime in 2014 before Christmas, hopefully.

And now the tagging begins. I am tagging authors whose words I love to read and if they choose to take the challenge they will post their own Meet the Main Character Blog Tour and tag the authors who they in turn admire.  I generally don’t ask permission of those I tag but they will not receive future links if they choose not to participate. I choose those authors whose work I respect and enjoy read.  I have listed five talented authors because I know that one or two may not be able to accept this challenge but I wanted to include them for their extraordinary contribution to the writing process.

Here they are:

DeanieHeadshotPNGTails New Cover Small

Deanie H. Dunne is a caring, inspirational and creative author of children’s and YA books. She is a truly amazing person who I greatly admire because of all that she has accomplished against adversity in her life. She triumphed to become a champion equestrian as a young child.  Her story of her courage and perseverance is an inspiration to all who read it, Tales Of Sweetbrier. Deanie has my utmost admiration and I am honored to know her and call her a special friend who gives unlimited support and encouragement to me.

paul-g-day-photo

Paul G. Day  is a creative, multi-talented, author, videographer,  film-maker, blogger, who is the author of sixteen YA books and counting. There is no end to Paul’s talents as he continues to take on new adventures such as designing book covers. I greatly admire all that he does and how unselfish he is in his support of indie authors on PiA of which he is the founder. Paul is an exceptional person whose star is on the rise. It is my honor and pleasure to call Paul a dear friend and supporter.

1086284_589381972_1006067995_n

Sarah Mazor  is an incredibly talented author, publisher and supporter of other authors. She continues to publish outstanding books for children that encourage and promote good behavior, and teach life lessons in a caring and kind way.  Her creativity shines through everything that she touches. She is an amazing person who I greatly admire. I feel honored to be part of Sarah’s network of friends. She is a unselfish supporter of my work and others.

doncharisma_1377925040_55

Don Charisma is a sweet, thoughtful, kind, talented, energetic, blogger, artist, website designer extraordinaire.  He has so many talents that they are too numerous to list.  He has an incredible blog and posts about writing, photography, art, computer info and has received numerous blogging awards.  He is an unselfish person in everything that he does and supports other authors, bloggers and artists every way that he can. I am proud to say that he a good friend who I can turn to when I need support.

Jo Marshall

Jo Marshall is an author, blogger, supporter of wildlife and the environment. She works tirelessly to give back to the environment through her books and donations.  She is an extraordinary individual who supports others and offers encouragement in a kind and unselfish way to help make our world a better place.  I am honored to call Jo a friend and supporter.

Please check out the wonderful blogs of all these authors, bloggers and artists.  You will be impressed and will surely become an ardent follower of their work.  Please help support indie authors by purchasing their books and leaving a review.  It is the reason we all write  – for you our readers!

Thanks for stopping by and reading, my friends and followers and newcomers!

Please come back again!

Janice

 

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book, middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming next year. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meet My Main Character Blog Tour

  1. Thank you so much for tagging me in your lovely blog, Janice! I’m incredibly honored and blessed to be your friend. You are so gifted, which is one of the many reasons I admire you a great deal.

  2. Wow – I wasn’t expecting a psychological thriller, but I definitely want to read this one! I love that you don’t stick to one genre too – awesome all over the place Janice.

    • jjspina says:

      Thanks, Jo. I love writing in multiple genres. I have three other novels that need editing and completion. I read my novels dozens of times and always find something I want to change or add. It may be awhile before I get the others out. Just concentrating on this one now.

      I think people who know me may be shocked by this book. Not like me at all. It was difficult to write and think like a killer. I don’t plan on writing a sequel to this unless it does well out there.

      Thanks for your kind support and friendship. Both are appreciated!

  3. How exciting I’ll look forward to reading this. 🙂

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you, Charlotte. I hope to finish editing by the end of summer. Wish me luck! I am very anxious about it being my first. I hope it is well received. I appreciate your support.

      • Of course you have good luck from me, I wish you every success. I’m sure it’s a bit nerve wracking but still very very exciting.
        All the best
        Charlotte

Leave a Reply

