Interview with Author Bertha Mukodzani

 

Bertha Mukodzani

Please welcome talented author, Bertha Mukodzani, to my blog segment, Interview and Author.

It is a pleasure to have you here, Bertha.

Thank you for having me Janice.

When did you first know that you wanted to be a writer?

I guess the desire was ingrained in me from an early age as I used to write short stories here and there but it wasn’t until the death of my husband that I was pushed to write a whole book.

When did you publish your first book?

In September, 2010.

What inspires you to write?

Mostly my experiences, the people I interact with, the things I see, what I feel, touch and smell. All these trigger me to want to write.

How has your background made you a stronger and more resilient person?

I’ve had a lot of challenges from an early age. My upbringing, the death of my husband soon after marriage, among other things. All these experiences, as well as my faith in God, I would like to believe, have shaped me to be the person that I am today- strong and determined!

Please share your book and a synopsis of it.

A Life Steered draws heavily from my own life experiences and is a family drama. It is a story about a young girl whose life turned up-side down from an early age right through to her adult years. The story follows Sandra, who is the main character, as she experiences her first heartbreak, her marriage and when she is widowed at a very young age. The sequence of events are such that she finds herself struggling with her inner and outer demons. But what is it about Sandra that makes her such an inspirational character? This you will discover as you explore her character to the end. It’s not all doom and gloom as comedy is provided through colourful characters in the story. A Life Steered is a story of determination against all odds!

Where do you see yourself in ten years?

I believe I have what it takes, which is talent, courage and determination, therefore, I see myself having written a few more books and I would like to be one of the world’s most inspiring authors.

What is your next project?

I am in the middle of penning my second novel which is nearly finished, and I have named it Timely Confessions. In fact I have started the editing process.

What do you like to do in your spare time besides writing?

I am a mother to two girls, I work full time as a registered recovery nurse, and I take part in health screening in the community which is organized through my local church. I also like to read murder mysterious, watch detective movies, crime dramas as well as the occasional rom com. Am a romantic at heart!

Please share your links to connect with you and purchase your books.

My book on all online stores including Amazon   41ZbmdVrJZL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX342_SY445_CR,0,0,342,445_SH20_OU02_

my Blog

my latest article in our local paper http://www.getreading.co.uk/news/news-opinion/bertha-mukodzani-learn-grateful-what-6809561

my Zimlink health column http://www.zimlink.org/hello-and-welcome/, my Ezine health articles (diamond author) http://ezinearticles.com/?Whats-in-a-Patients-Name?&id=7696073.

Is there anything else you would like to share with me and my readers?

Just a word of encouragement: I just want to say that I am very passionate about what I do. My job as a nurse brings meaning to my life, and all my writings are aimed to inspire and encourage someone out there because I know that life can be very unfair at times and that it is easy to get discouraged. I want people to remember that regardless of what life throws on your doorstep, with courage and determination and the support of your family and friends, you can overcome these obstacles. It’s not how you fall but how you rise after falling. This is also what we learn through the inspiring strength of Sandra, who is the main character in my book. She is by no means perfect, neither is she a quitter.

Thank you, Bertha, for this lovely interview. It is nice to get to know you and your work. I know my readers will enjoy reading about you and checking out your book and connecting with you.

Thank you, readers and followers, for stopping by today to read about this amazing young woman. Please check out Bertha’s books and her interesting and inspiring blog and website.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY! 

 

 

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Interview with Author Bertha Mukodzani

  1. deanie2013 says:

    Another lovely interview. Congratulations Janice and Bertha on a job well done!

  2. Suzana E Chomete says:

    Well done Bertha!

Leave a Reply

