Interview with Author Kandy Kay Scaramuzzo and Pie

 

Kandy Kay ScaramuzzoPie An Old Brown Horse

Please welcome Kandy Kay Scaramuzzo,  the very talented and inspiring author of the award-winning book, Pie, An Old Brown Horse, and famous Pie himself.

I recently finished reading this wonderful book and posted my review below.

Pie is a wonderful old brown horse that captures your heart as his keeper tells his story through Pie’s eyes. After a serious injury he sustained from a bull he was tossed aside and considered useless.  But Pie did not think of himself as being useless. He knew he had a lot of living to do and a lot to give to others. He is a very special horse who through his kind and caring manner helps other horses and a young girl each find their way.

He befriended other horses and taught them how to behave as horses should. He took part in play day by letting handicapped children ride him and kept them safely on his saddle.  He was unselfish in everything that he did and thought of other’s feelings before his own.

Pie still lives and is now nearing his late 30’s.  He is comfortably retired but still wants to contribute in any way he can.
This story is an inspiring story of the courage, resilience and heart of a truly extraordinary horse.  It is a story for all ages to read and enjoy.  The Keeper is an incredible equestrian and human being demonstrated by her kindness and dedication to all the horses she raised and cared for and which she continues to do to this day.

I highly recommend this award-winning book!

1.  Please tell us when you first became interested in horses.

Since I am a seventh generation Texan, I think horses have always been in my blood. Unfortunately, it hasn’t been until my adult life that I have been able to afford to keep them. I was obsessed as a child, but my parents did not share my obsession.  As my daughter started to show tendencies toward severe shyness, I decided a 1200 pound animal was just what she needed to boost her confidence.

2.    How did you come to write about Pie?

Pie is just such a special horse with such a special aura about him, I really had no choice but to tell his story. I just feel honored and privileged to be the one to share his story. He is no longer about to help people physically, but I’m hoping his story will help inspire people. He is a true merchant of hope.

3.     What inspires you to write? 

Pie was a true inspiration all by himself. He was the one that convinced me to write his story. He can be a quite convincing old fellow.  No one can resist those big brown eyes.

4.   Have you written any other books?

No, Pie is my first book.

5.   Do you have any other projects that you are currently working on?

Pie and I are currently working on a collaboration.  It should be out in late spring or early summer.

6.     If you had the opportunity where would you travel in the world?

I think Australia would be a neat place to visit.

7.    Is there anything else you would like to tell us about yourself?

Pie and I have developed quite a partnership.  Look for more projects in the future by the two of us. He just recently convinced me to take in another older recue horse.

8.   Please share your links and where to purchase your book.

Facebook

Website 

Pie Facebook Page

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Pie cover

The following questions are for you Pie.  It is a pleasure to have you here too.

1.  Please tell us a little about your injury.

How did this terrible thing happen? Many years ago, I was gored by a bull in the hip and tangled into a barbed wire fence. I was the only horse the cowboys could use to catch the loose beast and it did not turn out well.   Here is the link to my book trailer if you want to see a visual version of it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYGZK7vrbYA&feature=youtu.be

2.  How long was your recuperation?

It took almost two years before I was up and running normally again. It was a very serious injury. Luckily the keeper understood, that such an injury would take time to heal.

3.  How did you stay positive and upbeat during this time?

I’m afraid, I did not stay upbeat most of the time. I was quite depressed until I met the little one and the keeper.

4.  Are you feeling well now? I am actually feeling better now than I have in many years. I am half way through my 39th year and am loving every minute of it.

5.     What is your favorite thing to eat?

I love baby carrots and sugar cubes.

6.  What do you most like to do each day?

I love my job. I supervise the other horses at the barn. I roll in the warm sand several times a day and think of new things for the keeper to write about as I am surveying my kingdom. I am quite busy for an old horse in the throes of retirement.

7.  Is there anything else you would like to tell us about you?

I have talked the keeper into writing another book. Look out for it in the late spring or early summer. We are currently in negotiations for an awesome book cover that will of course feature a likeness of me.

Thank you so much for allowing me to be a part of the interview. Some people seem to forget that I am also a collaborator on all these projects. Just because I am an old horse, doesn’t mean I don’t have a lot to say!

It was such a pleasure to interview both of you.  Thank you for sharing so much of yourself and your book, Kandy, and Pie for sharing your experiences with us.  You are both truly inspiring!

Thank you readers and followers for tuning in today to read about this award-winning author and her inspiring horse, Pie.  Please go check out their links and see what a wonderful book this is.

Thought for the Day:  You don’t have to look too far to find inspiration – sometimes it is in front of you.

Remember:  Reading Gives You Wings to Fly!

 

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Interview with Author Kandy Kay Scaramuzzo and Pie

  1. Thanks for hosting Kandy and Pie. It was nice to hear more about the story, and of course, to hear more from Pie.

  2. deanie2013 says:

    Very nice interview, Janice. It’s always fun to hear more about Kandy Kay and Pie! Thank you for doing this lovely interview.

  3. Nice to see Pie and Kandy are still creating books together – what a team 😀

Leave a Reply

