Interview with Author Mary Ann Vitale

Vitale_Mary_cd1536683_564141037002607_325820250_n

I am pleased today to be interviewing the very talented author of the award winning book, The Water Lily Fairy.  I recently read and reviewed her lovely book on Amazon.  Here is my review.

A lovely story for parents to read to their young children. What child doesn’t like to think that fairies are real and can do magical things?

This story is a delightful tale with beautiful illustrations. It is told in an easy to understand way and teaches children how wonderful it is to give rather than receive.

I bought this book for my little granddaughter who loves fairies. I look forward to more from this talented author.

Hello Janice.  Thank you for this interview.

1.    When did you first start writing?

I started writing children’s stories and poems ten years ago, at the age of fifty.

2.     What motivates you to write?

 A compelling urge to write has been the motivation to my writings. Also, some life experiences, especially with my grandchildren, a memory, an inspiration, a word, a thought, a scenery.

3.    What is your favorite genre?

My favorite genres are Fairy Tales, Contemporary Fantasy, Fantasy, Comedy, and Action & Adventures.

4.    Tell us a little about your books.

My first book “The Water Lily Fairy” is a story of a fairy who was curious about the people in Corleone, Sicily. She hid as a water lily in a pond among other water lilies. The fairy wanted to do some nice things for those people by showering them with different gifts every day.

My second book “The Water Lily Fairy at the Ice Cream Palace” is about The Water Lily Fairy visiting Cinisi, a small town in Sicily, known as the “Ice Cream Palace.” A special day is celebrated in this town for the children, called “Ice Cream Day.” The rich men of this town are greedy and try to stop having Ice Cream Day. The fairy makes a special day for the children. She causes these men to be jealous and saves Ice Cream day for the children.

My third book is “La Fata delle Ninfee,” the Italian version of “The Water Lily Fairy.”

My latest book “Ants in My Pants” is a rhyming and hilarious story of Lisa Marie, a little girl who loves to play with her best friend. She hides near a nest of ants and panics, as the ants get all over her pants.

5.    How did you come up with a story line for a fairy?

The story of my fairy story was born out of memories of the most beautiful water lilies in a fountain of Corleone, in Sicily. I always loved fairy books and wanted to write my own. I thought those beautiful water lilies were just perfect for my fairy book. At the request of many children who loved this fairy book, I was asked
to write more books on “The Water Lily Fairy” series. I have written about fourteen future books for this series.

6.     What are your current projects? 

My current projects are the children’s books “Mommy, Where Does Tiger Live?” and “Julie and Her Seven Calves.” These two books should be available very soon. The illustrations for my future book, “Mouse Goes to the Doctor” are almost finished. Then I will work on my children’s book illustrations for “The Street Where the Dollar Tree Grew” and “Fingerprints on the Mirror.” Also, I will continue to work on my latest stories which I wrote that need a little more attention and the translations in different languages for some of my books.

7.    What do you want to accomplish through your writings?

To write books that children will always love and treasure. Maybe one day they will say, “I remember that book!” Also to support the Society of St. Vincent de Paul to help the cause of the poor and The National Center for Missing & Exploited Children to help the cause of the lost children.

8.    What is your favorite thing to do other than writing?

I love to spend quality time with my family, especially my grandchildren, traveling, gardening, walking, and praying.

9.     Is there anything else you would like to share with us?

I would like to thank you for this interview, also I would like to offer a special thank you to all my readers.

10. Please tell us where to buy your books and how we can connect with you.

My books are sold online at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Author House, and wolrdwide. They are available also at the Book Nook store, in Allen Park, Michigan. People can contact me on my Facebook page.

This is the link for my Facebook author’s page.

This is the link for my Blog.

Water Lily book by Mary Ann Vitale

This is the Amazon link for my book “The Water Lily Fairy.” It is available in two editions.

This is the Amazon link for my book “The Water Lily Fairy at the Ice Cream Palace.”

This is the Amazon link for my book “La Fata delle Ninfee.”

This is the Amazon link for my book “Ants In My Pants.”

Thank you Mary Ann for sharing your wonderful books with me and my readers.  Please stop by again when you have more of your books available to share.

Thank you readers and followers for stopping by to read about this talented author.  Please check out Mary Ann Vitale’s links.  You will see why her book, The Water Lily Fairy, is a winner of the YATR Award.

Thought for the Day:  Instead of words of complaint use more constructive and positive words each day.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missin g Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book and middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Author Mary Ann Vitale

  1. deanie2013 says:

    Another very special interview, Janice. Mary Ann’s books sound lovely, so they match your interview. Best wishes to both of you for continued success.

Leave a Reply

