Interview with Author Davey R. Jones

PressKitPhotoDaveyRJonesdlAttach DaveyJones

Please welcome the talented author, and poet, Davey R. Jones, to Interview an Author.   It is a pleasure to have you here today, Davey.

1.     How did you become a writer?

I think the incident that instigated it all came at the hand of my brother when he gave me a blank journal for my fifteenth birthday and told me that I needed to write every day. I haven’t stopped since. I had several instructors who prodded me along the way, too. Many of my family members and my friends paid some guise of interest in my efforts and continue providing me an awesome support base. I eventually became a writer because I wrote so much that, at some point, my writing spilled over the proverbial sides of my hobby cup and I realized that I needed to do something more intentional with my products.

2.     What is your favorite genre to write?

I remain a die-hard short fiction fan and writer. Within that field I enjoy writing and reading realistic short fiction. I’ve dabbled in and appreciate everything else, but realistic short fiction always draws me back.

3.     You seem to have traveled a lot.  Where is your favorite place to live?

In the vein of telling great stories, Hawaii beats all. I don’t have to recount much more than that my north window overlooked the Manoa Valley and a daily parade of rainbows, or that my south window looked out toward Waikiki and the Pacific for people to understand why. Everything of great consequence that came out of my life happened when I lived everywhere else, but Hawaii was definitely the blockbuster.

4.     What is your favorite thing to do in your spare time, when you have some?

Writing often is my spare time. But I read a lot, too—at least a book a week. I travel but less now than before. Visual arts enthrall me so I often make excursions for the sake of composing worthwhile photographs. I spend a lot of time trying to understand graphic design. And I love fly fishing, swimming, and running. 

5.     You are a lover of Jazz music.  Do you write music or play an instrument?

I never mastered scoring music, but I certainly play. I have played some kind of instrument for as long as I can remember. I grew up with a trumpet stuck to my mouth (thus my Miles Davis obsession) and picked up a tiny bit of piano and a lot of guitar. I also have a ukulele that I dabble with. 

6.     What motivates you to create your stories or poetry?

I never mastered the art of conversation. Don’t get me wrong, I can hold a great discourse. But all my real thinking happens in silence, in solitude. Eventually the bits of everything—my own stories and those I’ve lost all sense of where they came from—start coalescing and eventually fall like a giant dew drop into the form of a story or poem. Some stories and poems resulted from the hard pursuit to understand experiences in my life.

7.     You mentioned that you love to dance on your website.  Have you ever danced with the idea of becoming a professional?

My wife says that for the sake of mankind I am never allowed to take up a career in dancing.

8.     Where do you see yourself in ten years?

I need to release a volume of collected works by the end of ten years. Also, I have some serious novels that I’m committing to completing and printing. I have taken on more and more teaching assignments—particularly in writing—and I thoroughly enjoy teaching and imagine continuing for decades. I’ve broadened my scope of writing to areas like research literature and grant applications: who knows how much further I will explore.

9.     Please share the titles of your books and a synopsis of each.

A Manual on the Human Condition is a collection of poems grappling with emotional anarchy. Merika, Love Poems tracks my socio-political awareness and concerns. Songs for Ascent presents a series of modern devotions. I have the pleasure of introducing my first collection of short fiction later this year (May, hopefully): Dialect: Short Stories. The proceeds will likely contribute to my son’s (currently 2 months old) college attendance, so please contribute generously.

10.   Is there anything else you would like to share with us that few know about you?

I’m partly crazy in several different ways. If any reader finds a manuscript bewildering, chances are the next will resonate with genius. Unfortunately, the opposite is just as likely. So hang on.

11.   Please share your links to share your books and to connect with you.

Davey R. Jones Website

Amazon Author Page

Audiobooks

Thank you Davey for being here today.  You are quite a fascinating person with such eclectic interests and talents. It was a pleasure to get to know you better.

Thank you readers for stopping by and reading about another incredible author.  Your support is appreciated!  Stop by and check out Davey’s amazing site.

Thought for the day:  Have you done everything you can to succeed at what you love?

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

 

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview with Author Davey R. Jones

  1. deanie2013 says:

    That was an interesting interview, as always, Janice. I’m sure lots of people will enjoy learning more about Davey.

  2. Pingback: Janice Spina Interviews Davey - Davey R Jones

Leave a Reply

