Interview with Author Jodi Desautels

 

author picBook poster with hearts with my books 1a_edited-1

Welcome to the Interview an Author segment of my blog.  Today I have the multi-talented  author of children’s books, Jodi Desautels.

Hi.  Thank you for having me, Janice.  Hello everyone!

1.  When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer of children’s books?

Well, I think I first thought of becoming a children’s book author many years ago.  When my daughter was a toddler, I tried to find ways that I could stay home with her.  Writing children’s stories happened to be one of them.  However, back then, my self-confidence was quite low and none of my stories ever got accepted for publication.  It wasn’t until rather recently that I found out about Indie authors and went that route.

2.  What motivates you to write?

I used to tell people, half jokingly, that I write because people don’t listen when I talk.  And, as I said in the last answer, long ago, one of my goals was to be able to stay home with my daughter.  Yet, now, I write because I enjoy it and I enjoy being part of the writing world.  My confidence is getting better and so are my skills.  I am meeting some very talented and kind author friends.  Also, one of my greatest hopes was to make a difference in a child’s life.  I remember enjoying children’s books growing up.  Even today, some of my favorite books are children’s books.

3.  What other genres have you written in?

I have written a few feature articles for local newspapers.  I have also written reflections, which are similar to devotions, for a parish I once attended.  However, the only book genre, I have written so far is children’s books.  I have thought about writing a MG or YA novel as well as an adult novel.  And, I have considered writing a devotional.  You never know what I might come up with next!  😉

4.  Please share your book titles and a synopsis of each.

I have three books.  The titles and synopsis are:

Clarinda Cloud:  Clarinda Cloud has many feelings.  With each feeling, she changes colors and her facial expression depicts the feeling.  This is a starter book for identifying and sharing feelings.  It is a great way to start discussions with young children about feelings and healthy ways to share them.  The text is repetitive for early learners and the illustrations whimsically tell the story.

Clarinda Cloud Activity Book:  Finally!  There is a great activity book that focuses on feelings for children.  The activity book is based upon the “Clarinda Cloud” book.  Yet, the activity book also stands alone.  You do not need one to enjoy the other.  Most of the activity pages are focused on colors and feelings.  However, the book practices many basic skills such as counting, letter searches, mazes, tracing, finding differences, etc.

Johnny’s Adventure Makes Reading Fun:

Johnny doesn’t like to read.  His mom helps him to realize that reading can be fun.  Read the book to find out about Johnny’s adventure and how you can help make reading fun for your children.  Nobody is too young for an adventure.  The desire for quality time with a loved one is something with which we all can relate!

5.  Who is your illustrator?

A very kind woman named, Sarah Bowman, illustrated “Johnny’s Adventure Makes Reading Fun.”  However, I illustrated “Clarinda Cloud” and “Clarinda Cloud Activity Book” myself.

6.  What is your favorite thing to do other than write?

Hmmm!  I don’t know if I can pick a favorite thing.  I like to be creative.  That includes teaching, learning, photography, wood crafting, and illustrating…just to name a few things.  I also enjoy playing games.  Hubby and I play cards and backgammon quite a bit.  So… I don’t know.  I think there are too many things to list.  And, I certainly can’t choose just one!

7.  Where do you see yourself in ten years?

Well, I see myself teaching in some way.  I don’t know whether it will be through my books, in a classroom, or through my education site, DUO Education.  I would like to be a bestselling author, making money with the branding of Clarinda Cloud, or one of my other characters and books.  I’d like to be creating and selling educational materials, providing online classes, and selling a ton of books.  I think it would be a great way to make a living!  Whatever I am doing, I hope that I will be thankful and be having fun!  LOL!

8.  What new projects are you currently working on or plan to work on?

Well, I have many pots in the fire at the moment.  The project on which I seem to be working the most steadily is a new rhyming book featuring a new character called Bo the Crow.  I like him.  He is a cute little guy!

9.  If you could pick a place to live in this world where would that be?

I enjoy living in the country!  So, wherever it is, it would have to be in the country.  I like the trees, the grass, the animals, the stars, and all the beautiful things to see in the country.  I like Vermont.  And, if I didn’t live in the U.S., I think I would like to live in a place like Iceland!  I have never been there.  But… I hear it is a beautiful country with friendly people.

10. Please share your links to buy your books and where we can connect with you.

Yes, I would be happy to share my buy links, websites, and my social media links!  Thank you!

Buy links:

Clarinda Cloud

Clarinda Cloud Activity Book

Johnny’s Adventure Makes Reading Fun

Websites:

www.AuthorJodiDesautels.com

www.ClarindaCloud.com

www.DUOEducation.com

Social media links:

Facebook

Facebook Fan Page

Twitter

Google+

About.me

Pinterest

11. Is there anything that you would like to share about yourself that few people know?

Let’s see.  I should be able to come up with something.  Okay… how about this?  I like to ride anything from a tractor, to a motorcycle, from a jet ski, to a snowmobile, from a horse, to an elephant, from a rowboat, to a kayak!  Oh, and when I was younger, I enjoyed riding a mountain slide as well!

Thank you Jodi for being on my blog segment, Interview an Author.  You certainly are a multi-talented and adventuresome person who will succeed at whatever she puts her mind to.  It is a pleasure to get to know you better and consider you a new friend.  Please stop by again if you have a new project you would like to share.

Thank you readers for stopping by and reading about another wonderful author.  Please go to Jodi’s website and look over her education site and her wonderful books.   You will be as delighted as I was when I visited it.

Thought for the day:  There is nothing that you cannot do if you put your mind to it.

Remember:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Interview with Author Jodi Desautels

  1. deanie2013 says:

    Another lovely interview, Congrats to Janice and Jodi!

  2. Thank you, Deanie. I enjoyed it! Aw! Thank you, Janice. I appreciate the interview and kind words!

Leave a Reply

