Interview with Author Valerie Ormond

ValChance (2)??????????????????????????????

Welcome to Interview an Author – today I have the distinct pleasure of interviewing a fascinating and talented author, Valerie Ormond. Valerie has written the book, Believing in Horses.

1. How and when did you become interested in horses?
My first encounter with a horse was when I was three years old at Washington, D.C.’s annual Cherry Blossom Festival. I fell in love with a mounted park police officer’s horse, and the officer was so kind that he pulled me up to sit on the horse. I was hooked from there.
2. You must have traveled a lot with your father in the Navy. What was your favorite place in the world to live?
I traveled a lot with my family and then, in my own Navy career. I feel very fortunate to have had those experiences. There really is “no place like home,” and I love my home state of Maryland. However, San Diego, California, is probably my favorite place to live.
3. What motivates you to write?
Life motivates me to write. I have also realized that many people have not experienced life in the military, or in a military family, so I hope to share with others an understanding of that life.
4. You were a Congressional liaison at one time. How has that position changed you and made you who you are today?
I learned so much about how our U.S. government works when I was a Congressional liaison officer. The position changed me because I worked with very powerful and influential people at times and realized how a single impression can mean so much. I remember the people I dealt with during that time. I remember those who were kind, patient, and thoughtful…and those who were not. That job helped make me who I am today because “I am a part of all those I have met,” as Lord Alfred Tennyson said.
5. Please share your book titles and a synopsis of each.
“Believing In Horses” tells the story of Sadie, a young girl in a military family who commits to saving ten unwanted horses from auction and uncertain futures. In “Believing In Horses, Too,” Sadie worries about her father in Afghanistan. She believes her love for horses will help distract her, but instead faces new challenges. In Sadie’s thirteenth year, she learns about courage and becoming the person she wants to be.

6. Where do you see yourself in ten years?
In ten years I hope to be still writing, still riding horses, and hopefully helping other people achieve their dreams.
7. What new projects are you currently working on or plan to work on?
I just launched my new business, Veteran Writing Services. I was fortunate to be part of the Veteran Women Igniting the Spirit of Entrepreneurship (V-WISE) Program, which helped me turn my ideas into my business. I have learned it is possible to make a living as a writer and want to share with others the business side of writing. I also hope to encourage veterans and military families to tell their stories.
8. What is your favorite thing to do other than writing?
Spend time with my husband! Yes, I am the luckiest girl in the world. My husband is my best friend, and we have many of the same interests including working out, horses, bicycling, traveling, reading, talking, and meeting wonderful people.
9. What helpful hints can you share with other authors who are just starting out?
How much time do you have? Just kidding. I’ll condense this for your readers:
1. Read, read, and read more.
2. Write, write, and write more.
3. Join a writer’s group, whether in person (recommended) or online. Writers help other writers and can be helpful and motivating. If you don’t know where to start, try www://writing.com.
4. Believe in yourself.
5. Listen to other people’s advice, but be authentic with your own voice. You are the only one who can tell the story you want to tell in the way you want it to be told.
10. What has been your most challenging thing to do in your life?
Getting over the death of loved ones and friends.
11. Please share your links to buy your books and connect with you.
Thank you! Here are the links to my books:
“Believing In Horses”
“Believing In Horses, Too”
And to me (please connect!):
Amazon book link: http://bit.ly/BelievingInHorsesBook

Media kit link: http://believinginhorses.com/pressmedia_kit
Author photo link: http://believinginhorses.com/yahoo_site_admin/assets/docs/ValerieOrmond.20482709.jpg

Website: http://believinginhorses.com/
Blog: http://BelievingInHorses.com/blog/
Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/BelievingInHorses
Twitter: www.twitter.com/BelieveInHorses

Thank you, Janice!

Thank you, Valerie, for this wonderful interview. It has given me and my readers a chance to get to know you and your work better. Please keep in touch and let us know when you have a new book you would like to share.

Thank you readers for stopping by to read my newest Interview an Author.  I hope you enjoyed reading about Valerie as much as I did.

Thought for the day:  Do something nice and unexpected for someone in need today.

Remember:   READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY! 

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Interview with Author Valerie Ormond

  1. Great interview Janice 😀

  2. jjspina says:

    Thank you my kind friend! You are such a wonderful supporter. I greatly appreciate having you as a friend! Stay in touch always!

  3. mazorbooks says:

    Lovely interview, Janice.

  4. Thank you, Janice, for interviewing me for your blog. I particularly liked that you did research and asked very specific questions instead of generic questions. Thank you again, and look forward to seeing you around the net.

  5. deanie2013 says:

    Another lovely interview, Janice. It’s fun to learn about other authors and their opinions on various subjects. Her book sounds very interesting and engaging.

Leave a Reply

