Remembering Author, Steve K. Smy

Me - old

This is a blog dedicated to the remembrance of the late Steve K. Smy, author and blogger extraordinaire.   He had been sick a long time but hung in there and published his last book, A Darkness in Amazonia, in September, 2013.

Steve and I met online when I read an excerpt from one of his books and loved it.  I wrote to him and asked if I could be his copy editor on his next book.  I thereafter read many of Steve’s books and edited them for him.  He was a dedicated and talented writer and took pride in his work making it the best it could be.

I remember keeping in touch with him regularly on the edits as I worked on his books.  When the new book was ready to be edited he sent it to me.  I worked hard to make the deadline that he had so his book would be ready for a book launch.  Unfortunately I made a mistake when I put the book launch on my blog a day early.  Steve was very upset with me as he should be since I messed up.  I apologized over and over and had a good cry over my error and for possibly hurting his launch.  I was devastated.

After thinking things over I got a lovely note from Steve apologizing to  me, even though it was entirely my fault, he took the blame onto himself.  He said that it was okay and that he did not want me to be upset and cry over this.  It was after all not the end of the world and my early release just may help his book along the way.  I did a blog on Steve’s book launch at this link.  https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com/2013/09/10/book-launch-for-steve-smy/

I was relieved but still upset with myself as I am when I mess up!  I am my hardest critic.  It is difficult at times to live up to the high standards that I set for myself but I darn well try!  Lol!

Steve was so sweet and kind to me and made me feel so much better.  He was more concerned about my feelings than the success of his book launch at that point.   Well, I did spread the word and will continue to spread the word about his wonderful man.

Shortly after this time Steven became very ill and was unable to write his blog or keep in touch with me and others.  His wonderful friend, Chris Graham, The Story Ape Blog, took over Steve’s blog and book launch.  God Bless him!  Chris Graham is an exceptional person too!

Steve will be greatly missed by all who knew him.  I will miss reading and editing his books and keeping in touch with him online.  He was a dear and sweet man.

Here is a bio of Steve:

Author Bio: Steve K Smy was born in Ipswich, Suffolk – a picturesque part of England famed for being part of Constable Country, where the renowned artist John Constable worked and produced many of his finest paintings. He has lived virtually his whole life there. He started writing for pleasure when he was 13 years old, with a science fiction novel! Naturally, his writing was less dominant for many years, as he and his wife Jenny raised their three children to adulthood and independence. He returned to writing seriously in February 2012, following a long illness. Since then, he has written and published, in e-book format, several short stories and, in e-book and paperback formats, four novelettes and a novella. He has also been working on a major fantasy novel.

His published stories include tales in three series: the Thief series of fantasy short stories, the mixed genre G1: The Guardians series (two novelettes and a novella, to date) and the science fiction Captain Henri Duschelle Stories (a short story and two novelettes, so far). The novelettes and novella have now been published in paperback. Fans of the G1: The Guardians series should be aware that a novel (part four of the series) is going to be published very soon! (This is the last book he wrote and published.)

Thank you for stopping by and reading this latest blog.  I appreciate your readership and support.  Please go to Steve’s links and check out his incredible books.

A Darkness in Amazonia Front Cover 02 800x500

Here are the links to purchase Steve’s books.

Purchase details:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=steve%20smy

ebook from: Smashwords Amazon stores worldwide The e-book will become available from other online bookstores over time!

Paperback from: skoobebooks.co.uk

Hardback from: skoobebooks.co.uk

51QR5-k7J4L__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_17998907 17700531 17607663 17449676 16192015 51uLwnRONML__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_ 41JbsaWf8oL__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_ 41CS6Yurj+L__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_

Thought for the day:  Remember those who have passed who touched your life in your daily prayers.

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Remembering Author, Steve K. Smy

  1. deanie2013 says:

    You did a great job with this, Janice! I didn’t know Steve for as long as you did, but we used to email quite often before he got sick and he always made me smile. Indeed he was a fine person, who was extremely gifted. I am only one of the many friends who will miss him and keep him in my thoughts.

  2. Paul G Day says:

    What a wonderful dedication to a friend. You are so generous and kind to write about this author. So sad. 😦

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you, Paul. He was very sweet and oh so talented. What a shame for his family to lose him so soon. He had a lot more books to write too that we will never read. I am very upset because he was a special person.

  3. Sarah Mazor says:

    Thank you for sharing.
    Beautiful post remembering a beautiful man.

  4. Steve was an amazIng encourager and supporter for all of us (indies). He is sorely missed…

Leave a Reply

