Interview with Author Steven Smy

41CS6Yurj+L__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_ 41JbsaWf8oL__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_ 16192015   17700531 17998907 51QR5-k7J4L__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_17449676  51uLwnRONML__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_17607663

Welcome to my blog segment, Interview an Author.  Today I have the extreme honor of interviewing a multi-talented blogger and author, Steve Smy.  Most of us know Steve by his award winning blog, Imagineer-ing.

Thank you, Steve, for being on my blog today.  I am very happy to have you here.

Thank you for doing me the honour of having me, Janice!

Before I ask you any questions, Steve, I would like to review your blog and your book, The Intruder, which I just finished.  I have also downloaded In Night’s Shadows.  I look forward to reading that one too.

Steve is  a creative author of several books of the sci-fi/fantasy genre.  I just read his book The Intruder and from the first page I was hooked.  His descriptions of a man and what he looks like and how he appears and smells are so intense I imagined I could almost smell him.  It takes a lot of talent to bring the reader into a story that intensely.

This story is a sci-fi/fantasy which is fascinating and kept me spellbound until the end.  There is an evil presence in this land and the leader or prince enlists the help of a mage (a wizard) and a thief to find the evil and destroy it before it destroys his land.    If you want to experience the intensity of Steve’s writing you must check out his fantastic choices of books on his website.  I reviewed this book on Barnes & Nobles.

Steve Smy is also an extraordinary blogger.  Reading over his About Page on his blog I learned that he also knits, cross stitches and makes jewelry.  He is an extremely creative and multi-talented person.

I don’t remember how I stumbled onto Steve’s blog but it was a pleasant surprise and I have visited it again and again enjoying it more and more each time.  If you haven’t yet visited Imagineering you must stop by soon.  You will find book reviews, recommendations, and favorite authors, multiple awards for blogging, book promos, e-book apps, and blog submissions.  He is definitely a team player sharing his expertise about writing and publishing and blogging.  Steve seems to know a lot about everything and is an amazingly kind and considerate person.   He told me not to worry about doing this post since he knew I was very busy and told me to take my time.

Now that I had my say, let’s hear what Steve has to say.

  1.  When did you write your first book and get it published?

That was back in September 2012, as far as a published book is concerned.  I have several handwritten and typed manuscripts tucked away from the long years since I wrote my first tale, when I was 13 years old.  Those will likely stay gathering dust.  They all date from when the opportunities for publication were very few indeed.

2.  How do you come up with the premise for a book?

Essentially, a story just starts to unfold in my head and I’m forced to record it.  If I’m lucky, the computer’s switched on and I’m near it.   If not, then I usually find something else to jot things down on.  Failing to make that first recording, virtually guarantees that the story will be lost.  As to where the story comes from – I have absolutely no idea!  It just leaps out of the blue.

3.  Please share the titles of your books and a synopsis of each.

First in Skylord, a story for young people, about a young dragon who is driven by circumstance and pride to lie, and then learns just how terrible the consequences of lying can be.

Second, In Night’s Shadows is a horror story of sorts.  A lonely young man awakens to discover that, for the price of one night of passion, he has lost everything – including his life.  Rebelling against what has been done to him, he tracks down and brings all his rage to bear on those responsible.

Third, Seelie Heiress is the fantasy story of a young woman who always seems to suffer failed relationships.  With the latest such failure, she discovers that she is not human, and is, in fact, heiress to a Faerie realm!  Led, somewhat reluctantly, by a mysterious stranger, she is taken out of our world and helped to recover her past, in a race against time.  Others are searching for her, bent on her destruction.  She is aided by the mysterious stranger and a band of refugees.  This is an adult tale!  Unleashing her powers also unleashes her passion, to the delight of her saviour.

We now move into the three series I’ve written, so I’ll talk about them in broader terms:

Thief is a fantasy series.  Beginning with a city under the heel of cruel conquerors, and a youth who is persuaded by his guardian to fight for his freedom, a cast of characters assembles over time, destroying the leader of the invaders, bringing peace and a new order to the city.  Yet even if one evil is destroyed, there are others lurking, ready to strike.  Life will never be entirely secure.  There is magic, of a quiet kind, and battle.  There’s love and friendship.  There is, in fact, everything that could be expected in a city with a past such as Ur’gavan has.

The Captain Henri Duschelle Stories, old fashioned escapist science fiction, begin with a short story, in the sense that we are introduced to the Captain, his crew, his fantastic ship and his tendency to get involved in matters he shouldn’t!  Moving from that story, though not chronologically, we  enter a tale in which Duschelle’s loyalty to his crew is demonstrated in an insane dash across colonised Space, in which they must overcome pirates and cope with a ‘First Contact’ situation of very unusual nature, without losing any time!  Only thus can the life of a crew member’s son be saved.  Following this tale, Duschelle is called in to solve the puzzle behind a disaster for Fleet, exploring a world beyond colonized Space.  His unique skills, his special ship, and his loyal crew (fighters all) must learn the truth, risking destruction themselves.  What they learn leads them back to the Fleet Base they set out from!

Finally, the series that has me trapped writing new stories: G1: The Guardians.  This horror/future fiction (actually very mixed genres) series begins with the tale of an evil entity which is seeking to grow and spread, consuming everything in its path.  Peculiarly, the Guardians, in the form of their elite G1 team, don’t appear until very late in the story!  They are destined, however, to become the heroes of many tales.  In their next adventure, they face a truly ancient evil, from a past in which Britain was the province of savage peoples and their holy men – the druids.  The evil being has been imprisoned, by druids who served the Light, for millennia, but now it has been awakened, by a freak accident near a stone circle.  Alone, G1 may not be enough, but they find allies they didn’t expect.  Even then, the cost will be high, if they are to overcome the evil one, whose very presence threatens the existence of our world.  Last of the tales, as published to date, sees the characters becoming more familiar, the nature of their organisation clearer.  G1 is ‘stood down’, under strength following their last mission, and not entirely fit for duty.  But the unheard of happens – a stranger is allowed to enter the inner sanctum of Guardians Headquarters!  And he brings news that forces the Director to order G1 back into action.  Their numbers made up by rookies and people never expected to become field agents, accompanied by the stranger, they must locate an unknown enemy with unknown but undoubtedly impressive powers.  An enemy who has stolen an ancient artifact from its hiding place, an artifact of many powers including bringing back to the world an ancient god of evil.  The Sigil of Ahriman must be found, and recovered, at any cost.  And it will be a high cost, indeed!

Well, that’s it!  There’s a novel of G1: The Guardians in the offing – just awaiting a cover before publication, and there’s another novel being written at the moment.

4.  Did you always love sci-fi/fantasy?

Yes.  I think it’s inevitable when you grow up with a healthy diet of fairy stories and myths and legends.  The appetite for the ‘fantastic’ has to be fed, and sci-fi and fantasy are the natural food as you grow older.

5.  When did you start your incredible blog?

I started Imagineer-ing back in March 2012.  It got off to a very slow start, not really taking off until the December.

6.  How do you choose what to write about on your blog?

Sometimes it’s an issue that I have strong feelings about but which isn’t often spoken about.  Other times, discussions in a variety of other blogs and other places happen to be about one particular subject, and it seems as if there’s a melee which only causes confusion for authors, especially new authors.  In those cases, I try to consider all angles and write something that is logical and applies common sense.  Of course, there are times when I read something that offends me, and I write a post to put forward my own position on the issue.

7.  I noticed on your blog About Page that you have other interests such as knitting, cross stitching, and jewelry making.   How did you get interested in these projects?

Well, when I had polio as a four year old, and was in isolation in hospital, one of my grandmothers gave me a knitting set.  Of course, I couldn’t use it but ‘my nurse’ would sit by my bed and knit things for my Teddy.  That gave me affection for knitting.  A few years ago, I became extremely ill, losing a dangerous amount of weight and becoming very feeble.  As part of my recovery process, I turned to knitting.  I was rather prolific LOL.  When I had a bad skin reaction to one lot of wool, I couldn’t knit, so I started doing some little cross-stitch pieces that my wife had kicking around, and enjoyed it!  As my recovery progressed, I was skipping through various craft channels when I happened on one about jewelry making – with real gemstones!  At first, I’d simply intended to point it out to my wife, but I actually ended up doing it.  Nobody was more surprised than I was LOL.

8.  What advice would you give to aspiring authors out there who want to write in the sci-fi/fantasy genre?

Well, first and foremost: don’t think of yourself as an ‘aspiring’ author.  You either write or you don’t.  If you do – you’re an author!  Next – read, lots and lots.  Then, write and write and write.  The only thing truly unique about sci-fi and fantasy is that they can’t be written based on the old idea of “write what you know”!  They demand imagination and invention as no other genre does, except perhaps horror.  But be prepared to do research!  Surprisingly, you will encounter times when understanding something from real life is highly desirable.  But ultimately, as with any genre, you must write lots, and read as much or more.

9.  Is there anything else you would like to share with me and my readers?

One thing – There are many very good people out there, ready and more than willing to help and advice – don’t be afraid to ask for help!  You’ll probably get conflicting advice – try everything and use what you are comfortable with.  And above all else – totally ignore the few bad guys who make attacks on you or your work!  They aren’t worth giving the time of day!

10.  Please share your website, blog and where to purchase your books.

While I have a website, my blog is now the only place that truly carries everything.  You can find it at: The

imagineerebooks.wordpress.com

The blog also carries as full a list of purchase links for my books as I can assemble, under the Works by Steve K Smy menu option.  If you do read any of my works, I would love to hear from you.  Also a rating or, better still, a review is always much appreciated.  Reviews can usually be posted on the site you obtain the book from, plus Goodreads.   Some other bookstore sites also allow posting of reviews even if you didn’t obtain the book through them.

Thank you, Steve, for sharing your blog and your books with us today.  It was a pleasure spending time with you.  Please feel free to come back again to share any new books or projects.

Thank you Janice!  It’s been a pleasure, and tested my alleged brain marvelously.  I hope that I haven’t bored you or your readers!

Steve, you have been fascinating and could never bore anyone. I am sure my readers will definitely agree!

Readers, let Steve hear from you and let him know how interesting he truly is.  Also, please stop by his blog, read and peruse, and purchase his incredible books.  You will not be disappointed and always remember to be kind and post a review on the sites.  All authors appreciate your input.

Thank you, readers, for stopping by today to read about Steve Smy and his wonderful blog and incredible books.  I hope you enjoyed this interview as much as I did posting it.

REMEMBER: READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Thought of the Day:  Using ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ is not just for children!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Interview with Author Steven Smy

  1. Great interview Janice 🙂

  2. Deanie Dunne says:

    Another wonderful interview, Janice! I loved learning more about Steve and his books. He’s so talented and always helpful to other authors.

  3. Pingback: Fumbling Through Friday | Imagineer-ing

  4. Deanie Dunne says:

    He certainly is and he always helps other authors, which is very commendable, I think.

  5. Deanie Dunne says:

    I can see why you would be. I try to support him in as many ways as I can.

Leave a Reply

