Interview with Author and Publisher Aviva Gittle of Aviva Gittle e-Books

MBCover4Interview Al-NEW-4-Web

Thank you for stopping by my blog segment, Interview an Author.  Today I have the pleasure of interviewing a talented author and publisher, Aviva Gittle, of Aviva Gittle e-Books.  Thank you Aviva for visiting with me and my readers today so we can get to know you better.

1.     When did you know you wanted to be a writer?
I’ve been writing since I was a child. Wrote my first song at age seven; started writing plays and poetry at age 11. But, it never occurred to me to write for a living until the beginning of this year. Mind you, I’m 51. 🙂

2.     When did you become interested in being a publisher?
The original plan was to publish two children’s books I had written years ago. I started working with editors and illustrators on Elance.com (an online freelancing company). One of the illustrators I hired had a watercolor illustration of a kitten and butterfly in her portfolio. It was so beautiful that I was moved to write a story about it. The next thing I knew had written four stories, then five, then six, then seven. Lol! The Kitten and Friends series was born. More books were in development and it just made sense to start my own publishing company. So, I formed Aviva Gittle eBooks. I spent seven months developing a backlog of books to release.

3.  What was your first book?
The Boy Who Bounced to the Moon was published in the Amazon Kindle library first. Three more books were published the same week. Technically, the first children’s book I wrote was Chloe and the Belly Beast which I copyrighted in 1995. It has yet to be published.

4.  Please share the titles of your books and a synopsis of each.
The Boy Who Bounced to the Moon is about a six-grader, Timmy, who is willing to do anything to win a flying model rocket kit. Including finding a way to get to the moon. It is a journey into the imagination of a child.

In Nana’s Arms is a poem I wrote to my grandson. There are two versions. One features the modern and colorful art of artist Carlos Brito. The other features classic watercolor illustrations by Karissa Hunter.

Bagel Boy is a humorous look at what happens when a child will only eat one kind of food,  all day, every day.  Many parents will relate to trying to get their picky eater to eat their spinach. 🙂

5.     What type of author are you looking for when you publish a book?
Aviva Gittle eBooks only publishes children’s stories. I’m looking for authors who are ready, willing and able to handle real feedback on their drafts or story ideas. I prefer odd and quirky story lines. All of my books will be published in English and Spanish. So, I’m particularly interested in connecting with bilingual English/Spanish speaking writers. Or, English-speaking writers who want to have their books translated into Spanish.

6.     Do you have any suggestions for new authors out there on how to get noticed by a publisher?
I’m not a traditional publisher so I can only talk about how you can get me to notice you. A unique story concept and a willingness to collaborate, and a sample that shows me your writing style.

 7.     Is there anything else you would like to share with me and my readers?
If you have a great idea for, or manuscript of, a children’s story, please send an email to GoToGittle@gmail.com for information on our process for submission (before you actually send the idea or manuscript). Also, we always welcome beta readers to review Aviva Gittle stories before they are published.

 8.     Please share your website, blog, and publishing company information and where to purchase your books.
You can contact Aviva Gittle eBooks at GoToGittle@gmail.com. Please follow us on Twitter @AvivaGittle to be the first to hear about new stories, drawing and writing contests and eBook promotions. Or, visit us at www.GoToGittle.com. To share a great story with the children in your life, go to amazon.com/author/avivagittle or search Amazon.com for “Aviva Gittle.”

Thank you, Aviva, for being with me today.  I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about you and your books and publishing company.  I wish you well in all your future publishing and writing ventures.

I must say that I have reviewed four of your books and loved them all.  Bagel Boy is still my favorite!  You are very talented and have a creative group of authors and illustrators on board.  I especially like the way your books reinforce positive behavior in children.   Keep writing, Aviva, children all around the world need your books.

Thank you readers for stopping by today.  I hope you will check out the colorful and entertaining books at Aviva Gittle e-Books.

Please stop by again soon, readers, for more interesting interviews, book reviews, and updates on my books.

Remember:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Thought for the day:  Don’t expect your dreams to follow you – YOU must follow your dreams!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview with Author and Publisher Aviva Gittle of Aviva Gittle e-Books

  1. Deanie Dunne says:

    This is another fun to read interview, Janice. She sounds like a very creative author for sure and I’ll bet her books are fun to read, too.

  2. Aviva Gittle says:

    Thank you, Deanie; what a nice thing to say! Janice was kind enough to give me my first interview as a published author. Lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

