Interview with Chris aka The Story Reading Ape

My photo for Janice to add to the article

Hi everyone.  Thank you for stopping by my segment of Interview a Blogger.  I am very excited today for I have the pleasure of interviewing Chris Graham aka The Story Reading Ape who is an incredibly talented and creative blogger.  If you haven’t stopped by his multi award winning blog please do so ASAP.  I have been following Chris for several months now and always enjoy reading his posts.

On his blog Chris shares helpful hints, bargains in the form of discounted books, features of authors and their books, specials, bookcases of different books and spotlights on exceptional people or stories.  Chris has an outstanding blog in one neatly wrapped package with his adorable ape reading a book or hopping up and down excitedly after reading a book.  Chris is a team player in every sense of the word sharing his expertise and helping others.  I recently nominated him for The Wonderful Team Readership Award.  He is well deserving in every way.

Now I would like to ask Chris some questions so we can all get to know him better.

Thank you, Chris, for agreeing to this interview.

No, Thank YOU Janice for inviting me, I must say, you have a lovely home, this is a lovely comfortable reclining armchair … it’s not? … Oh! … Well the good news is, it is now (shy, embarrassed smile).

  1. How did you come up with the idea of an ape on your blog?

Well Janice, all I had to do was look in the mirror and thought, “I know. I’ll pose as an ape posing as a human posing as an ape LOL. Oh, sorry Janice, please come back out from behind the settee; I wouldn’t dream of biting you, I’m a vegetarian after all “ (smiles disarmingly with lips firmly closed so only the tiniest points of fangs show)

2.  When did you first know that you wanted to be a blogger?

I sort of fell into it after seeing authors’ appealing for bloggers to help promote their books, so I decided to create a blog that could do that.

3.  What is the most interesting thing you have done with your blog?

Increasing its size.  I was running rapidly out of space to store all the photos of Authors, their book covers, and fellow bloggers when I was reblogging their articles.  I did hand over several bunches of bananas and got more storage space from those nice people at Word press, but I could see that it wouldn’t last long either. 

That’s when I realised that I needed to separate the Books from the authors, as it were, so I started another website for bookcases.  That solved the problem for only a little while, because it too soon filled up. 

The next logical step was to set up separate bookcase for each genre.  I must say, it has helped a lot, giving me much more space and keeps the cyber floor clean and tidy.

4.  How did you decide what to blog about?

I’ve always loved books so originally thought about setting up a book review blog.  Then I noticed how many already existed and they were posting long, detailed reviews, which I don’t do.  My reviews are only 25 words or so, because I don’t analyse the books I read, I just say if I liked them and why.  I don’t want to spoil any other readers’ enjoyment of discovery during their reading of the books I’ve read, so I try to avoid giving too much away that isn’t already in the book synopsis.

Then I remembered how I kept seeing authors’ appealing for appearances on blogs to promote their books, so I did a little surfing around the different authors sites and saw how many of them were like little islands scattered around the cyber oceans, with little or no connection with each other.

Sailing around a bit more, I revisited the Book Review Blogs and noticed that they each seemed to stay within their preferred genre, only occasionally straying into other, less familiar genre.

The only websites I could find that catered for multiple genre were the online book stores, but they had minimal information about the authors of the books they were selling.

THAT is when I decided I would blog primarily about authors, complete with their photos, letting everyone see that these gifted people were human, and had lives similar to their readers; the only difference being, they published books.

However, I also wanted to help promote their books, so I added book cover photos and story synopses, then later added links to wherever the books could be obtained

5.  (Trick question time) Please share your books and if you have published any?

I wish I could claim to be an International bestselling author masquerading as a humble blogger, or even an author who is known only to his local community and friends, but I’m neither.

I am really only a reader with a love of books and a respect for authors and the way they can create worlds, characters, scenes and stories that can transport me away from the cares of reality for a while.

6.  What do you like to do in your spare time, when you have some?

Surprisingly, I do have some spare time, then my mate and I visit with friends and family, or travel around the Jungle to visit Historical Buildings and learn about the people who lived there.  We go for walks in the fresh air, smell the flowers, sneeze (we both get hay fever) and generally enjoy life as retired professionals.

7.  What would you like to share with me and my readers about yourself?

My enthusiasm about books and their great value to Society.

Did you know that people have actually died to ensure books became available, so people could get information, think about it and make decisions for themselves? 

History tells us about these brave pioneers and also about the people who tried to stop books from being available to everyone.  Sadly, we still have a long way to go as some of these anti-book people exist even today.

We must not underestimate the importance of stories and books in keeping our individual imaginations working.  Ask almost anyone who works in NASA why they work for NASA and they will usually tell you about some books or authors whose stories inspired them. 

The same applies to Archeologists, Engineers, Scientists, Astronomers and even Authors, as well as people from most walks of life.

8.  Where do you see yourself in ten years from now?

Blogging a little more slowly I should think, but blogging nevertheless 🙂

9.  Please share your blog and website addresses?

EVERYONE who likes books or is curious about authors, or would like to meet others with similar interests, can stop by my blog at:

http://www.thestoryreadingapeblog.com

You’ll always be welcome to visit, browse for reading ideas, participate in the banter in the comments under the articles, even if they appear to be outdated – I’m always aware when someone adds a comment and like to interact with them. 

Make allowances for time differences though.

Thank you, Chris, for sharing your thoughts and blog with me and my readers.    I enjoyed learning more about you and your talented writing.  Please feel free to stop by again to update us on what you are doing or to share something new.

I’ll be sure to keep you all updated.  Thank you for hosting me, my appetite and my furniture remodeling skills 🙂

Thank you readers for stopping by today.  I hope you had as good a time as I had and chuckled over Chris’ witty comments as much as I did.  He certainly is a funny fellow!

Chris makes a lot of sense about the value of books.  Books hold so many wonderful, historical and meaningful things that enrich our lives.  We must protect these precious commodities.

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Thought for the day:  Humor heals!  (inspired by Chris’ witty repartee)

Please come back to read more interesting and insightful interviews, book reviews and news about my new publications of children’s books and novels.

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Interview with Chris aka The Story Reading Ape

  1. Hope your Husband was able to fix the non-reclining armchair I made for you 😀

  2. Pingback: Was Out Visitin’ Yesterday | Chris The Story Reading Ape's New (to me) Authors Blog

  3. LucyPireel says:

    Great interview, with a great Ape! Love to see him in the spotlight for once. 🙂

  4. Thank you, Janice, for hosting Chris so we could all learn more about him. I am a huge fan of his, also. I am a new follower of yours and love that “positive attitude” is one of your tags. Best to you, and look forward to seeing you around.

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you Valerie. I think Chris is fantastic too. I try to be positive and want to attract the same positive thinking readers. Thank you for following me.

  5. Colline says:

    Enjoyed reading a little more about Chris. As a recent follower I am still getting to know my way around his blog.

  6. Tuan Ho says:

    Chris, he’s a good fellow! 🙂

    I love what Chris says about writing short reviews and not spoiling the plot. There are so many reviews these days that talk about specific plot points, and I think to myself, “What the ****? Why should I even read the book now since you’ve told me everything I need to know.”

    • jjspina says:

      I agree Tuan. I do a lot of book reviews and do not tell anything about plot twists or give too much away. I don’t want to spoil a book for others. Thank you for stopping by. Come back again.

  7. Hey Chris! Pie wanted me to tell you that he has also remade some human furniture, unintentionally of course. You should see what he did to the picnic table!

Leave a Reply

