Interview with Author Juan Trevino

cropped-polly-run1frontcover Hyperpolly

Welcome to my blog segment, Interview with An Author. Today I have the distinct honor of interviewing a talented and creative writer and author, Juan Trevino. I have been following his blog and enjoying his stories immensely. Hi Juan, so nice to have you here. I have several questions I would like to ask you to help my followers get to know you better.

1. When did you decide to be a writer?

I didn’t have a cathartic moment of realization that I would become a writer. I had no interest in writing as a young man. I do remember being able to express myself verbally and I believe that gave me abilities to write what I spoke. Luckily I was blessed with an interest in reading the dictionary, which increased my word power. Without the words, of course, you can’t express your thoughts.

2. How did you come up with the idea for Hyper Polly Sillabick?

I wanted to write Polly with my daughter, Liana when she was in the 6th grade about 2001. I sat on the idea and when Liana graduated from high school she had lost interest in co-writing because she was going to the University of Michigan. At that time I decided not to let Polly die and I began to outline her story. The name Hyper Polly Sillabick is actually a word – hyperpolysyllabic. Which means, someone who uses big words, which she does. Polly is an amalgam of many psychological concepts. I can’t explain her in a short interview, but suffice to say – she is a good girl, but has a wild side. She has parents that have recently separated and she tries to cope. She is very smart, but has to temper her intellect to avoid taunting from classmates. There is a lot more to her than just a little hyper girl – she is complex. I hope the readers will pick up on the clues to her personality as they read the books.

3. What other stories have you written? Are they children’s books?

The only books I have written are my Polly books, of which I plan on writing more of. I have outlined four more Polly books. I do have a children’s picture book I would like to do and a friend is really pushing me to do it, but Polly comes first.

4. Did you use your own children as a template for the character?

No. Polly is based on my experiences in grade school where I was pretty smart and kids resented me for my abilities.

6. Are you working on any new stories?

Not really. I wrote a short story I dreamed about which was very dark and brutal. Kind of scary. I wrote it so I wouldn’t forget it. Those that have read it seem to like it.

7. Is there anything you would like to share with us?

Only that I write from my heart. I really don’t plan meticulously. I sort of let it come out as I type. My writing abilities are God-given and I would not despoil them by learning the craft in a classroom. I have written 60 poems and I cannot recite one sentence of any of them. I don’t understand – I just accept it.

8. What are your favorite things to do in your free time?

Cook steaks on the grill. Drive my 1981 Cadillac Roadster around. Golf, golf and golf.

I would like to add that you Jan are an incredible lady with a great gift. You can communicate with the writing congress with great ease. I am impressed and encouraged by your presence. I am humbled that you thought enough of me to interview me and I take your confidence seriously. Thank you, my dear.

Juan Trevino

Oh my, I am humbled by your kind words.  Thank you Juan.  You are a true gentleman.  I didn’t realize that you have a dark side too with that novel you dreamed of, interesting.  Also, I can understand about your not being able to recite your poems even though you have written so many.  I, too have the same problem.  I don’t know why either!?  Your books and blog on Polly are fantastic.  I am sure my followers will be checking out your site and will agree with me.  Don’t give up on that children’s picture book.  I bet it is a good one.

I previously reviewed Juan’s continuing story Polly Sillabick on his blog.  Check out my review.   Polly is an excellent story for your children to read this summer.

Check out Juan’s blog and website:   http://hyperpollysillabick.wordpress.com/

Juan’s books are available through Barnes and Noble and Amazon.com.

Thank you so much for stopping by Juan.  I enjoyed interviewing you and hope you will stop by again to let us know how you are doing and what new books you have to offer.

Thank you followers for looking over my blog today.  I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it.

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Thought for the day:   Think carefully before you say something unkind to someone.  It can never been erased from one’s mind.

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Author Juan Trevino

  1. Deanie Dunne says:

    Another excellent interview, Janice! It was fun to learn more about Mr. Trevino and his work. I’ll check out his website as well. Good job!

Leave a Reply

