Interview with Author Sabine Chennault

Finding Faith book

Today I am interviewing a very talented author, Sabine Chennault.  Thank you, Sabine, for visiting with me.  I would like to ask you some questions so my readers can get to know you and your books better.

1.      How and when did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

I have always enjoyed writing. Back in school we used to do a lot of those open ended stories for homework in English and German (I was born and raised in Germany and went to school there).  I would fill a whole composition book with no end to the stories.  At some point one of my teachers ask my mom to please have me write less.

In high school I wanted to be a singer or actress and most of the time someone told me that I was never going to make it. That kind of mental limitation continued until after my ex-husband left in 2006. I wrote throughout the years, just little stories for my kids. Then after the divorce I decided if I don’t go after my dreams now I never will. So I wrote the first book and luckily it was published a year later.   

2.      What was your inspiration for your book, Sam and the Pixies: Finding Faith?

I was taking a writing class and one of the projects was to use five words from the twenty the professor had provided.  I choose: Tree, Faith, Forrest, Leap, and Old.  I’d had this idea for a story for a while.  My youngest had gone through being the receiving end of bullying at school and I wanted to write something that would make young people understand that life is better if we accept our differences and get along.

3.      What other children’s books have you written?

My first book was released in 2009, “A Leap of Faith”, it was the end result of the five words.  It had great responses. “Sam And The Pixie – Finding Faith” is actually the first book together with the second.  I didn’t want to create a series so my publisher combined the two books.

4.      I understand that you illustrate your own books.  How long have you been drawing or illustrating?  

Actually my youngest daughter did the art for the first book and she was the model for the cover of the second.

5.      What other projects are you working?  Do you care to share them with us?

I have been working on a YA Fantasy Fiction Novel for over a year.  I’ll get ideas for it and write a bit and put it aside again.  Another project is “In the Wake of My Life”, a novel about an author who has reached the height of career but has lost her ability of feeling anything after she lost the love of her life. As she contemplates suicide she looks back over her life with a little hope that she might feel differently about ending it all. There is also the gem of my heart. My new husband was in the Navy for 20 years and spend time in Kuwait during Desert Storm and in Afghanistan during the current war. He has mild PTSD and I have done a lot of research into the subject. It is stunning how many service members feel so desperate after they come home that they end their lives. I decided to write a Novel “The Corpsman’s Wife”, about a young couple who meet just after he is done with boot camp. It will tell their story of going through deployments, his depression, attempted suicide, his eventual treatment plan, how she deals with his being gone, raising children and staying faithful, and eventually helping him get better. I hope to raise PTSD awareness, bring more attention to the high rate of suicide amongst returning service members and what we as a nation and individual families can do to help them.

6.      What is your favorite past time, when you can find some free time?

I love to spend time with my grandkids, with my youngest daughter planning her wedding, spending time with my husband – watching a movie or just reading together, I am an avid knitter and gardener as well.

7.    Is there anything else you would like to share with us so we can get to know you better?

For over twenty years returning veterans, the military, and what we can do to better give them support has been heavily on my mind. I think we as a nation can do so much more to show them that we are grateful. I truly hope to be wealthy enough someday to build a retreat for Veterans suffering from PTSD with trained counselors to help them.

8.  Where can we purchase your books?

A Leap of Faith” is available for Kindle only at the moment, it can be found
under Sabine Goldman. “Sam And The Pixie – Finding Faith” will be rereleased in
a month or so. Anyone who would like to know exact dates and be fully in the
loop with what’s going on should flow my author Facebook page.

http://www.facebook.com/SabineSChennault

http://www.amazon.com/Leap-Faith-Sabine-S-Goldman

Sabine S. ChennaultThank for having me on your Interview An Author segment of your blog, Janice.  I really enjoyed sharing a little bit about myself and my books.

It has been a sincere pleasure to have you here, Sabine.  Thank you for coming and please feel free to come back again and let us know how you are doing with your next book.

I reviewed Sabine’s book Sam and the Pixies and found it to be a delightful and imaginative and fun read for children ages 7 and up.  Check out my review of Sabine’s book previously here on my blog.

Thank you readers for stopping by.  I hope you have enjoyed this new segment of my blog and that you will come back again for more interviews with talented authors and their great books for some quality summer reading.

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book, middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming next year. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Author Sabine Chennault

  1. Another excellent interview, Janice. Ms. Chennault is an inspiring subject. I’m glad she’s pursuing her dreams and I wish her much success. It’s also admirable that she hopes to help people who were in the military. They really should be honored and revered for all they do for us.

Leave a Reply

