Interview with an author – Interested?

Hattie in jpegCharlene from Barnes & NobleimageimageimageimageCharlie's cover from Amazonbaa8be43287b8c13b5fb54afeb407a4a_6l4weye_dancers_lowres32013-04-09 12.28.08Finding Faith bookA Rainbow of Thanks bookcropped-polly-run1

Hi there fellow writers. I posted my first interview with an author yesterday, Deanie H. Dunne, who is extremely talented, funny and entertaining, and very knowledgeable about horses. Check out my previous blog.  Above you will see all the books I have reviewed so far or at least most of them.

The next author I will be interviewing is DCRush (Don & Cathy Rush), husband and wife, writers of children’s books. Look back at my review of their books on my blog posts.

Now, if anyone else would like to be on my segment of INTERVIEW WITH AN AUTHOR please let me know. I also want the following authors whose books I have reviewed to
please contact me. You know who you are, but in case you forgot, here is the list of authors I would like to interview.

  1. Laurence Bradbury
  2. Mike Wells
  3. JZ Bingham
  4. Sabine Goldman Chennault
  5. Juan Trevino
  6. Michael Fedison
  7. Kathleen Shields
  8. Richard C. Hale

If there is anyone else out there that I forgot to include from my book reviews segment please contact me asap.

I love looking over all these great books I have been fortunate to read and review.  It is quite incredible that there are so many multi-talented writers out there.  I look forward to reading many more excellent books to review on my blog.

Now about my publishing venture, I have to get you all up to speed.  I wish I could say things are speeding up …. but alas, they are not!

I have sent my two children’s books to several TP but only heard back from one (not interested – ugh).  One book I sent to an Indie Pub but no word from them either.  It is the waiting that is so hard for me.  I am not patient when it comes to waiting to get what I have worked so hard to achieve.

All I can say to all those publishers out there – get going and read, read, read.  I know they must receive tons and tons of MS but mine is only a little one – 22 pages and how long does it take to read one of those?  I guess it is getting to me because I am so anxious to get my work out there.  I have something to say and I want children to read and enjoy my books.  My young grandsons love my books and even asked for copies of their own to take home.  I had to make copies of all the pages and my husband so carefully put each page in a plastic sheet so they wouldn’t get ripped from all the handling.  I was so pleased that they wanted my books, I cried afterwards.

My novel is in the hands of a very kind and generous author who has offered to look it over.  I am a wreck until I hear from him but I want to make this book the best it can be and there is always room for improvement.  Once I make all the edits and corrections I will send it along to Smash words and then to Create space.  I want to have both eBooks and printed books.  I have gotten a world of information from LinkedIn sites about publishing. Now I can’t wait to get into these sites and get to work downloading.  Do I sound too desperate and filled with angst?  I’m trying to be laid back about it and be calm.  I will announce with horns blowing, confetti flying and me jumping up and down when I finally complete the publishing part of this craziness.

Well, I won’t bore you any more with my troubles.  Hope to hear back from some authors or some newbie writers who want to get their books out there.  I welcome all of you to my blog.

I have downloaded so many books to read myself that I have enough to last me the whole summer.  I will eventually review all these books here too.  Talk about having my work cut out for me!  But I love every minute of writing and reviewing!  I feel alive and excited when I write.

I wish you all well.  Thanks for stopping in to visit me.  Please come back again or I may miss you!

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

2013-04-03 10.58.01

 

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interview with an author – Interested?

  1. I agree that it’s terrible to endure the waiting. I think publishers forget that we hold our breath and turn blue waiting for them to respond. But I’m sure you’ll have exciting news soon and we’ll all be hiring McNamara’s Band to march around our neighborhoods and make as much noise as they can.

  2. Janice Spina says:

    Thanks Deanie. I am hopeful to hear soon. Your support is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

