Interview with Author Deanie H. Dunne

Charlie's cover from AmazonCharlene from Barnes & NobleHattie in jpeg

This is a new segment of my blog.  Beginning today I will be interviewing all the authors whose books I have so far reviewed.  Today I will be interviewing the very talented and entertaining author, Deanie H. Dunne.  Above are the covers of Deanie’s delightful children’s books.

Hi Deanie, it is so nice to have you here to talk about your books and tell my followers a little about yourself.   Let’s begin.

1.  How long have you been an author and why did you decide to write your first story?  My first book, Tails of Sweetbrier, was published in 2009. I wanted to be a positive influence to children so I thought if I was successful at becoming an author, it would be a good first step.

2.  What are the titles of your books? The titles are: Tails of Sweetbrier, Charlie the Horse, Charlene the Star and Charlene the Star and Hattie’s Heroes.

3.   Can you give me a short synopsis of each book?

Tails of Sweetbrier is an autobiography of a little girl who dreamed of becoming a champion horseback rider, even though she had obstacles to overcome.

Charlie the Horse is a funny, fictional, tale told from Charlie’s point of view. He has trouble concentrating on his work and he has many lessons to learn if he’s to succeed in his quest to become a famous racehorse.

Charlene the Star is a story about Charlie’s little sister, Charlene the Star, who has totally different dreams than anyone else in her family. She will entertain her readers, while they learn that it’s okay to be different from your friends.

Charlene the Star and Hattie’s Heroes is an adventure with Charlene wondering what she can do in her spare time. She and her friends, Wooliam, Hattie and Elliott, start an exciting new career. Readers will learn the value of friendship and teamwork.

4.  Who illustrates your books for you? My sister, Holly Humphrys-Bajaj, does a fantastic job with the illustrations for our books. She is passionate about her work and she’s extremely gifted.

5.  Do you have any projects you’re working on now? Yes, Holly and I are working on another book in the Charlene the Star series. It’s called Charlene the Star and Bentley Bulldog. It should be released later this year.

6.  Is there anything else you’d like to share? We’d like people to know that the second edition of Tails of Sweetbrier will be released on Kindle shortly. We are also excited that Charlene the Star will be available on Kindle soon. Anyone who would like to know more about my books can visit my blog at www.dhdunne.blogspot.com  and/or my Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Childrens-author-Deanie-Humphrys-Dunne/574820065875628 

7.  Where can people purchase your books? All of them are available on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble.com. You may also order signed copies directly from me by emailing me at: Deanie@dhdunne.tk

Thank you so much for interviewing me today, Janice. It was a pleasure spending time with you.

It was my pleasure, Deanie, to have you here.  Thank you for writing all these wonderful books.  Children everywhere will greatly benefit from your knowledge of horses and what it takes to become a success at whatever they aspire to do in life.  You are an inspirational person.  Thank you.  I wish you much success with your books and in all your future endeavors.  Please stop by anytime to let my readers and me know how you are doing.

 Deannie photo

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

Moth-6.4.13

 

 

I hope you enjoyed my first installment of interviews on my blog.

If any writer out there would like to be interviewed on my blog please let me know.  If you also want me to read and review your books contact me here.  Thank you so much for reading my blog.  I appreciate all your support.  May God bless you all.

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Interview with Author Deanie H. Dunne

  1. Thank you so much for interviewing me, Janice. We had a great time together. I’m looking forward to being able to interview you soon and post our discussion on my website!

  2. Sherry Ellis says:

    All of Deanie’s books are lovely. I’m looking forward to the next one!

    • jjspina says:

      Yes, Deanie is very talented and quite funny too. She has quite a natural sense of humor. She is one of the nicest people I have met online. I am her number # fan. It is a pleasure to support her.

  3. Thank you, Janice. I always practice my blushing skills when I read your compliments! I’m sure very soon we will be celebrating your first book being published.! D

  4. I’ve had the honor of reading Charlene the Star and loved it! I will soon get the rest so my kids can have the full collection 😉

    • jjspina says:

      That is wonderful! That will make the author very happy! They are all wonderful stories and so educational and at the same excellent role examples of character, strength and perseverance. Please come back to my blog for more excellent books. I will be interviewing more talented authors. Also check back on the other children’s books reviews I have done. They are all excellent. I will only put 4 or 5 star books on my site. Thank you for reading my blog. Pass the word to other concerned parents about what their children should be reading.

  5. I’ll have to recommend them to my niece…she has a little boy who is a farm nut.

    Your sister’s illustrations are so pretty. You guys make a great team!

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you for stopping by. I will forward your kind not to Deanie. She will be very pleased. She and her sister are a talented team.

    • Thank you, Elizabeth! My sister is extremely talented. She created all of the covers on these books. I’d be lost without her incredible abilities. We’d love to know what your niece thinks of our books, if she decides to purchase them. We love to write books with good messages for kids.

Leave a Reply

