The Shine On Award – Nominees listed, are you one?

THE SHINE ON AWARD AND THE NOMINEES ARE………

shine on Award

This has been quite a week for me – nominated for three awards!  I have had so many good things happening that I have to pinch myself to make sure I am awake.  I have been kindly nominated by talented children’s book author, Deanie H. Dunne, for the Shine On Award.  I can’t thank Deanie enough for her generosity, kindness, support and friendship.

Here are the Rules:

  • Display the award logo on your blog.
  • Link back to the person who nominated you.
  • State 7 things about yourself
  • Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.
  • Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award requirements.

Seven things about myself:

  1. I was legally blind from age ten to adult without my glasses because I couldn’t see two feet in front of me.
  2. I now have perfect vision 20/20 due to cataract surgery four years ago.  Thanks to God.  I am eternally grateful for this gift.
  3. I was a member of the Sweet Adeline’s International Chorus for five months and left due to my cataract surgery.  I never returned due to the traveling involved.
  4. As a young child I used to sing, When I Was Just A Little Girl, with my grandfather as he played his mandolin.
  5. While walking from my godmother’s house one day with my cousin we were accosted by two older girls.  They finally let me go and I ran all the way home to get my aunt so we could rescue my cousin.  It was a frightening experience.
  6. I nearly fell off a Ferris wheel when I was five years old.  I was with the same cousin but we held onto each other until it stopped.  We don’t see each other any more; it’s too dangerous!
  7. I fell down half a flight of stars when I was pregnant with my daughter (7 months along).  I suffered a severe ankle sprain.  I couldn’t walk and had to crawl around for two months until after I gave birth because I couldn’t put weight on my foot and was not allowed to use crutches by my doctor.  Thank God once again for my daughter was unharmed.

The Nominees are:

  1. JZ Bingham
  2. Julie Green
  3. Natalie Mohr
  4. Sabine Chennault
  5. Kathleen Shields
  6. Juan Trevino
  7. Mike Fedison
  8. Angela Jordan
  9. Helen Valentina
  10. Chelsea Brown
  11. Megan (Write Meg)
  12. Markovich Arts
  13. Catherine Ryan Howard
  14. Jennifer Writingsfamrs
  15. Brooke Monfort

Congratulations to all the nominees. 

Thank you to all of you for sharing your talents with us. Keep your light shining brightly!

shine on Award

REMEMBER:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Shine On Award – Nominees listed, are you one?

  1. You’ve had lots of challenges, Janice, but you overcame them. What an inspiration you are to everyone. Thank you so much for your kindness and compliments.

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you. I enjoyed your 7 things about you too. You have a delightful sense of humor and a real gift in telling a story. You have had your own special challenges and overcame them. You are an inspirational person. I admire you and feel fortunate to have you as a friend.

      • Thank you so much, Janice. I nominated you for another award. Just couldn’t resist this one for you. Thank you for all of your special comments and encouragement. Please go to;www.dhdunne.blogspot.com to find out more.

      • jjspina says:

        I didn’t see my name on the award but saw the name Janice Person.

        Sent from my iPad

      • Janice, your name is on the award I posted yesterday, the Very Inspiring Blogger award. Today’s blog was for the second Liebster Award. Sorry you were confused, but you’ll find your name there.

    • jjspina says:

      You are so sweet and a good friend.  Thank you Deanie. Janice

      On Wed, 8 May 2013 04:01:52 +0000, jemsbooks

  2. Meg says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination! It’s nice to “meet” you, and I enjoyed reading your random facts. I’ve always been afraid of falling off a Ferris wheel . . .

    • jjspina says:

      You are welcome Meg. i enjoyed your blog too. Being so young I really didn’t know the real danger I was in.
      Nice meeting you too.

    • jjspina says:

      You are very welcome Meg. I just nominated you for another award, The Very Inspiring Blog Award. Congrats! Check it out at my website jemsbooks.wordpress.com.
      Best Wishes to you always.

  3. Pingback: A Super Sweet Blogging Award, and Tag! I’m It! | Eye-Dancers

Leave a Reply

