The Best Moment award! Nominees listed, are you one?

I can’t believe it! I have been blogging for nearly five months and have been nominated for two awards. How exciting! There is still a lot to learn about blogging and social media and I am learning more each day. I am having a lot of fun in the process.

The part that I enjoy most is reaching other bloggers and checking out their sites. I also love reading and reviewing other writers’ books. If you have been following me you will see I have reviewed several novels and children’s books. There are a lot of talented writers out there and if I can help any one along the way with a review I am more than happy to do it.

Now about these awards.

THE BEST MOMENT AWARD PRESENTED TO:image

I have been nominated for the Best Moment Award by a very talented and kind children’s book author, Deanie H. Dunne. It is an honor to be nominated and I feel humbled by it. I accept this award gratefully.  My acceptance speech will follow shortly.

Here are the rules:
Winners re-post this completely with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video recorded. Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awardees! The re-post should include a NEW set of people/blogs worthy of the award with notification sent to them of the great news. Display the award’s badge on your blog/website.
Resources: What makes a good acceptance speech?
Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way.
Humor. Keep us entertained and smiling.
Inspiration. Make your story touch our lives.
Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches compiled in MomentMatters.com/Speech.
My Acceptance Speech:

Just a little over five months ago I was completely in the dark about social media.  I had no concept of FB or TW or LinkedIn and did not plan to use any of them.  But then I got serious about my writing and decided I had to market myself since no one else would.   I had a goal and was determined to reach it – publishing my children’s books and novels.

I have always been a quiet, shy and stay at home type of person.  Growing up I was picked on by others who noticed that I was introverted and extremely shy and sensitive.  I had to endure this treatment but I learned to cope and not cry in front of others.  As I grew up I become stronger and more resilient against the bullies.  Now I am nearly 65 and finally able to stand up to anyone who tries to belittle or bully me and have become a supporter of anyone who is the underdog.  By building up other peoples’ egos I help myself become stronger.  Helping others give me a sense of accomplishment.  Underneath it all I am still sensitive but keep it hidden as best I can.

Since I have been social networking and blogging I have finally come out of my shell.  I still am at home a lot, other than when my husband drags me out and about, but my world has opened up by all of you readers and supporters out there.  I feel like a different person and I thank all of my followers for helping me along to be a stronger person no longer in need of my shell.

When I write I feel alive and love every minute of it.  I have been retired for two and a  half years now from an administrative secretarial position in a school district and at first I was worried about what I would do in my spare time.  Now that I blog I find I don’t have enough time to do everything I want to write and read.  I love reviewing other writers’ books and am learning so much from their work.  I hope to improve my own books in the process.  I will continue on my journey and I hope you will come along with me and help me along the road to becoming an author.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.  I feel blessed to be part of this award.  A special thank you to Deanie H. Dunne for nominating me.  I truly appreciate her kindness and thoughtfulness.

A special thank you to all of you who have perused my blog.  It has been so much fun writing it and meeting such nice people in the process.  I feel I have made many friends along the way.

And the nominees are:

  1. laurencebradbury.com
  2. richardchaleauthor.com
  3. jzbingham.com
  4. hyperpollysillabick.wordpress.com
  5. mikewellsblogspot.com
  6. strongblogs.com
  7. markovicharts.com
  8. juliegreenart.com
  9. inspire1life.wordpress.com
  10. livonne.com.au

Remember:  READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

image

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missin g Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book and middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Best Moment award! Nominees listed, are you one?

  1. You did a great job with your acceptance speech, Janice! I love learning more and more about you. Guess what? You’re going to get even more practice at this sort of thing. I nominated you for the Shine on Award. Keep up the good work and stop by http://www.dhdunne.blogspot.com to find out more.

  2. Dear Janice,
    I just felt I had to write to say congratulations on your award. You will always be treasured by me for your wonderful reviews of my books. Please let me know when your murder-crime book is ready to be read, I’d love to have the opportunity to repay your kindness with some constructive feedback.
    Laurence Bradbury.

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you Laurence. You are my favorite writer of all the books I have reviewed. I have been so busy reviewing other books that I have not gotten back to my own book. I appreciate your offer. I definitely need a lot of constructive help on it. I have to get cracking with my editing again. I will let you know when I’m completed it.
      Janice

  3. inspire1life says:

    Hello Janice,
    Thank you for the awards. You are so very kind and I am enjoying perusing your blog.

  4. Livonne says:

    Awww thank you so much.. I’ll have to think on my speech though lol. Gosh.. I’m never short of words and now I am lol

  5. Thank you, Jan for this award. This is why we write. To be acknowledged for our work. I am not surprised that you were nominated because your work is so wonderful. That makes this award very nice, coming from you! I, like you, am new to blogging and i have found it to be rewarding. It’s great to meet others who write so well. Thanks again for thinking of me.

    • jjspina says:

      Hi Juan,

      I have nominated you for another award, the Liebster Award. Check out my blog to see more info. Congrats!

      Also, did you check out the interview I did of you yet? I think you will like it.
      I miss hearing from you. I hope all is well.

      I will be publishing my children’s book within the next couple of months or less. Had some difficulties downloading the cover. Hope it is finalized and I can get on with the rest of the publishing stuff. It can be so frustrating.

      How are you doing with your new publisher? Let me know when you have another book out. I would love to read it and if you need a copy editor (proofreader) please let me know. I will be happy to help you out.

      Your friend,
      Janice

  6. jjspina says:

    You are very welcome Juan. You are very kind and I consider you one of my social media friends. You are very talented and have a fascinating story on your blog. I have grown to love Hyper Polly Sillabick as if she were real. Keep writing and you will be very successful one day. Don’t forget the little people like me when you are famous!

  7. phylburton says:

    I’ve come over to your site as a result of you visiting mine. Congratulations on being nominated for the award – I hope you do very well. I will keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

