Reviews of new books – Richard C. Hale, Mike Wells and Updates

imageimage

Besides editing my books I have been busy tweeting with other authors who have graciously gifted me books. I have already extolled the writing skills of Richard C. Hale. But I just love his books, Frozen Past, which reminded me of Stand By Me in its eloquence. Richard’s other book, Near Death, was fascinating in its premise of near death experiences (NDE). There was action, love, and mystery all entwined in this story. Also His website is hilarious and informative. Check it out and you will be hooked as I am. Keep writing Richard, my new friend! He can be found on Twitter too.

image

Another new author to me is Mike Wells. His book, Lust, Money and Murder Book 1, was just that! He hooked me right away with his main character a strong, resilient woman who is not afraid to be a woman and show her tender and sensitive side. He has also incorporated those kinds of characters you love to hate but at the same time feel sorry for. There is action, adventure, intrigue and mystery throughout the story. But don’t settle for just one book you have to buy the other two to find out what happens to the main character. I loved it and felt sorry it was over. I am now a fan, Mike! I look forward to buying the next two books. Thanks Mike for a worthwhile read. Find Mike Wells on Twitter too.

I find that I am learning a lot from these talented authors. I only hope my books will be as successful. I can be found on Twitter and Facebook where I will post all the updates of my books.

Let me end with one of my poems – Winter

Just as each spring is an awakening of the earth,
Each winter is a time to prepare and contemplate rebirth.
Nature has already shed its spring and summer clothes
And is now into a new more protected pose.
As the seasons change from warm to the cold we dread
We also need to prepare ourselves for what may lie ahead.
Lots of ice and snow and shoveling is coming our way.
Children will revel in the drifts of snow
On days they are out of school as you know.
But somehow each year we will get through
The awful chills, cold and flu.
We will also look forward to the friends and family who come to call.
Winter can be a tough time to be alive,
But we must believe we will somehow get through it all and survive.

Keep on reading for READING GIVES YOU WINGS TO FLY!

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book, middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming next year. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reviews of new books – Richard C. Hale, Mike Wells and Updates

  1. I love your poem on the travails of Winter. Though it is a cold, slushy time of year, those of us who live in the North can handle it. We just dance around the slush puddles and snowdrifts and go on our way. Very good expressions in your poem that caught the essence of what the season is all about. Great job!!

    • jjspina says:

      Thank you so much Juan. I appreciate your kind words. It has been a rough winter so far. I can’t wait to post my spring poems. I had a question for you regarding your story. Where is the beginning chapter? I would like to read the whole story. I have read bits and pieces so far. I really like it and want to read from the beginning. Thanks again for reading my blogs. I am an avid follower of you now!

      • All three books are on the Hyper Poly Sillabick blog. There are 37 chapters. I have them in order from book 1 chapter one to book three which I’m doing now. I will review my blog and update you with a better answer. Thank you, Juan.

      • If you go on my chapter 5 post on facebook, click on the hyperlink to my book page, then go to dashboard on the top left of screen, then go to ” my Blogs ” and click on the 33 posts. From there you can go back one page ( bottom left screen ),. now you can find book one chapter one, Etc. Hope this helps (whew, lol ).

  2. OOps soryy. At 33 posts page go to bottom right to go back one page.

    • jjspina says:

      Thanks Juan. I managed to find Chapter 1Book 1. I really enjoy your storytelling, very sweet. I posted the first Chapter on my Facebook for all to see. I am a follower!

      Keep writing!

      Janice

      Sent from my iPad

      • Awesome! Janice. So glad you found me! I am writing. I’m currently doing my next Polly book where she takes a family trip to Michigan’s Upper Peninsula and she gets involved with a family of Bigfoots. She will rescue them from a cruel lumberjack holding them captive. Thanks for your support. Juan

  3. jzbingham says:

    Janice, I really enjoyed your poem Winter. Please let me know if you would like to review my new children’s books; they’re cartoon stories told in rhyme. I’ve bookmarked your blog and look forward to watching as you progress from aspiring author to just Author! 🙂 Regards, JZB

    • jjspina says:

      Hi JZ,

      Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate your input.

      I would be happy to look at your books and review them on my blog.

      I will go to your site and let you know when I put the review up.

      Sincerely,

      Janice Spina

      • jzbingham says:

        That’s great, thanks! They’ll be published April 30th. I gave out all my review copies, but I may have one extra ARC of Book 1. Please email me at author@jzbingham.com and let me know where I can send it to. Look forward to your thoughts. JZB

Leave a Reply

