Work is progressing!

Writing to me is fun but editing is another thing. I have been busy doing a lot of it lately. As you know I am working toward publishing my children’s stories and novels.

At this point in time I have one children’s story being illustrated and nearing completion in a month or so. It is so exciting to actually see my story come to life in pictures. I am passionate about writing and my stories are a part of me. I have to find a publisher for this story and that is the hardest part. Anyone out there interested in publishing my story about an elephant? He is very endearing. My goal is to take my book once it is published to our local schools and library and give them a free copy to keep so the children can get to know my stories. My grandchildren also want a copy. It looks like I will be giving most of my books away.

I just want to make children happy by reading. I always loved to read since the first grade because of a wonderful teacher I had, Mrs. Perry. She encouraged a very shy little girl to get up in front of the class and read. I was frightened at first but then I got into reading the story and the class actually sat up and listened? I come alive when I get into my writing and become part of my stories. There aren’t enough hours in the day to do all the writing and reading that I want to do.

Now about my two novels that I am editing, I am editing and formatting them one at a time through Smashwords.com for ebook publishing. It is not a quick fix since everything has to be changed from taking out extra spaces to those pesky returns. I am all done with the formatting part now on with the editing. I am really getting into my story as if it were someone else’s book. I read it with a different set of eyes so to speak so I can be more objective. I also have family reading my books too.

Once I complete this process I will get both books copyrighted and sent on to Smashwords.com. I have gotten an enormous amount of constructive and helpful information from this site. The founder of the site, Mark Coker, has three free books to read to assist in formatting and preparing your book for ebook publishing. Excellent books with easy to understand illustrations about formatting on your PC or laptop. I feel empowered after reading them that I can now do the next book quicker than the first. Thank you Mark! If you want to publish on ebooks this is the way to go. I am very excited about getting the first book online. It will be downloaded to multi formats so it can be bought through Nook, Sony, google, Amazon, Kobo and others.

I am on Facebook and Twitter if you want to chat about writing. Check out my site too at jemsbooks.com. I will be adding more pages to my site as I get each book published. Also I will enable anyone to purchase my books online from there as I add another book. Keep watching for news about my venture. Keep reading for reading gives you wings to fly.

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with eight children's books for PS-Gr 4, four middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working toward publishing one children's book, middle-grade/preteen book 5 of Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. A mystery series for girls and a YA fantasy series will be coming next year. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

