Hello fellow readers and writers out there.

This is a my first blog. I am a little nervous about doing this but I think it is time for me to get out in the world somewhat. I am a lover of reading and writing. I have been writing poetry as long as I can remember. My one wish now is to get some of my writing published. I have graduated into children’s books and novels for all ages. I wanted to start writing a blog to get some of my writing out there in the world to see if there is any interest in what I write about. Just to see the joy on the faces of children when they first open one of my books is my goal. I am currently working on a website too. It needs a lot of tweaking so I will not give out the site yet. It may not be ready until I can publish my first book. Who knows when that will be – hopefully in this life!! I started with a goal of six months that fell through. Then I said I would get published in a year – ha – that didn’t happen either. That was four years ago. I bought books on how to publish and what to do. I read them from cover to cover and still have no clue. The time I finished the books they were out of date and all the information was null and void. Great! Now what – back to square one. I even wrote to several agents and publishers and sent my poems, stories. Some I heard back from and others no word. Some sent me a form letter and others added a note of encouragement for me to keep on trying and not to give up. Well, there are some famous writers out there that got started by self-publishing. I may have to go that way. But money is needed to just get started on that venture. I am now looking into epublishing which seems to be the way to go. I have spoken to a few illustrators and one is interested in illustrating one of my YO (young adult) stories. I am thrilled but again money is needed to get an illustrator. I guess I will have to save my money – maybe after the holidays when I have paid off all my bills.
Oh what do I do
to get my writing out there?
I have tried everything and still don’t have a clue.
Do you?

Wishing all of you reading this a Merry Christmas and a Healthy and Happy New Year.

About jjspina

Janice is an award-winning author with nine children's books for PS-Gr 4, five middle-grade/preteen/young adult books, written under Janice Spina, and two novels, and a short story collection written under J.E. Spina. She is also a writer of poetry, blogger, avid reader, reviewer and a copy editor. Janice has always loved writing and started very young writing poetry, then stories. Her children's book, Lamby the Lonely Lamby, won a Silver Medal in the Mom's Choice Awards. Book 1, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives, The Case of the Missing Cell Phone, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and Honorable Mention from Readers' Favorite Book Awards. Book 2, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series, The Case of the Mysterious Black Cat, won the Pinnacle Book Achievement Award and so did Book 3, The Case of the Magical Ivory Elephant, Davey & Derek Junior Detectives Series. Jerry the Crabby Crayfish won a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award. All her books are available on Amazon.com, Create Space, Kindle, B&N and other online book sites. One of her sports' poems was published in The Lawrence Eagle Tribune in October of 2008. She is currently working on a mystery series for girls, a sequel to her first novel, Hunting Mariah, and a YA fantasy series will be coming in 2018 along with more children's books. Her hobbies are crocheting, walking to keep fit, hula hooping, going to the movies with her husband, and spending time with her five grandchildren. Janice loves to hear from readers and appreciates reviews. Sign up on her blog https://jemsbooks.wordpress.com for a copy of her newsletters under Contact Me. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband who is her illustrator and cover creator.
This entry was posted in Writing, book reviews and publishing, poetry, children's books, YA and novels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hello fellow readers and writers out there.

  1. Janice your poem is beautiful! I loved reading your blog to and I’m so excited for you…you have taken big steps toward your dream! You go girl!

    • jjspina says:

      Dear Ara,
      Thank you so much for your kind words. You really bolster me up. It has been difficult to get this up and running since I didn’t have a clue to what I was doing! I greatly appreciate your input and respect your opinions. You are such a godsend to this struggling writer. Please keep in touch. I enjoy hearing from you.
      Janice

  2. Dan and sheila says:

    Janice……good luck with this……and thank you so much for the coffee cake…Dan and Sheila

  3. Sabine Goldman says:

    Janice, thank you so much for you kind and wonderful review of my book “Sam and the Pixie: Finding Faith”. It was truly appreciated.

  4. Hello, Janice. I read your story on your writing journey and thought I might be able to help. I published my book through MIRROR publishing in Wisconsin. They are a co-op, not a self publishing organization. They are cheap, they do their own illustrating very very cheaply ( $ 10.00 per illustration and YOU get the copyrights to each illustration, to use as you see fit ). they will put your books on Amazon.com and B & Nobles, etc. It cost me $ 400.00 to publish my book and then $ 3.59 per book for me to buy. I then sold each book for 8 to 10 dollars each and got my money back. Call Mirror and talk to Neal Wooten ( a very nice man ). He is in Alabama this weekend on a lecture tour but he will be back on Monday. I recommend this as a much cheaper way of getting your books published. As you know Illustrators want $ 300.00 per illustration and THEY keep the rights. Just that alone makes Mirror a better option. And after each book you publish, Neal drops the price down by $100.00 dollars until after 3 books, he publishes your books for free. Great deal. Call and see what you think. JUan Trevino AKA as HyperPollySillabick.

    • jjspina says:

      Hi Juan,

      Thank you for your suggestions. I already have two children’s books illustrated. Do they accept them with illustrations too?

      I did connect with Neal and he told me to go to the site for Mirror Publishing. I will check it out soon. Both of my books are in the process of being accepted for copyrighting. Do I need to have the copyright in hand before I can publish?

      Thank you so much for your help!

      Janice

      Sent from my iPad

    • jjspina says:

      Hi Juan,
      Where are you? I have been trying to connect with you. Please send me your email address.

      • Hi Jan, my email address is lianatrevino27@gmail.com ( for wordpress.com ). My other email address for regular mail is jtrevino852@gmail.com.
        How is your connection with Mirror publishing going? Let me know. I have been tied up trying to get published with a local company and will be meeting with the owner of the company on the 18th. I have been outlining my next 4 book series to present to him at that time. Maybe I can get a long term deal ( yeah, right? ). I enjoy your work so much and I wish you success. Your friend , Juan.

      • jjspina says:

        Thank you Juan. Good luck with your publishing deal. I will keep you in my prayers that all goes well for you. You deserve the best because you are the best in what you do. I sent you a note already about my venture in publishing along with a request. Hope to hear from you soon.
        Your friend,
        Janice

      • In case my previous reply did not get to you, my wordpress email is lianatrevino27@gmail,com. My regular email is jtrevino852@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

